SOURCE: ole Media Management

December 12, 2014 16:17 ET

ole Receives Indie Publisher of the Year Award From AIMP

LOS ANGELES, CA--(Marketwired - December 12, 2014) - The Los Angeles chapter of the Association of Independent Music Publishers (AIMP) presented its prestigious Indie Publisher of the Year Award to ole, the world's fastest-growing independent rights management company, at the AIMP LA Chapter Awards, Mixer & Benefit held on December 11th at BMI's offices in Los Angeles. It was the first time that ole has received the award.

ole executive David Weitzman, Vice President of Business Development, accepted the award on behalf of the company. The honor comes as the company celebrates a 10th anniversary year that also saw its eighth straight CCMA Award for Music Publishing Company of the Year and unparalleled financial growth.

"It means a great deal to ole to be honored in this way by our colleagues in the AIMP. Attending AIMP meetings in the earliest stages of my career was a necessary inspiration in continuing my personal journey, and I applaud their continued work on behalf of our community," said Robert Ott, Chairman and CEO of ole. "ole's successful ten-year journey has been very gratifying, but I am even more excited about our future. I share this recognition with our world-class staff and songwriters."

"ole is pleased to be recognized for this prestigious award by such an important organization in our community, the AIMP," said Weitzman. "We're very pleased that the AIMP is recognizing ole's achievement of ten successful years as an independent music publishing company. We've been supporting talent, other music publishers, and creators and have been a community player. Also, we've epitomized what it means to be independent right down to our trademarked 'majorly indie' brand."

"As President of the AIMP Board, we are honored to present our Publisher of the Year Award to ole," said David Hirshland, President of the AIMP and Senior Vice President of Client Services at BMG Chrysalis. "ole has embodied the spirit of the independent publishing community since its founding in 2004. We congratulate them and wish Robert and his team continued success and a long future."

The event, which was open to AIMP members only, celebrated the holiday season while raising money for charity.

This year, ole celebrated its 10th anniversary in style, winning a variety of awards including a Best R&B Song GRAMMY for Justin Timberlake's "Pusher Love Girl," which was co-written by ole songwriter Timbaland, as well as numerous ASCAP Pop Music Awards and ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music Awards for Timbaland co-writes with Timberlake and Jay Z. ole also acquired the rights to the full catalog of iconic Canadian rock band Rush as well as Nu Image Millennium's A/V music publishing catalog. In addition, ole's Nashville office successfully placed the song "People Loving People," co-written by ole legacy songwriter Chris Wallin, on Garth Brooks' comeback album Man Against Machine, with the track becoming Brooks' first single since 2007. Finally, the company celebrated its decade in the business with a blow-out bash in Toronto featuring performances from ole songwriter Haley Reinhart and country musician Tim Hicks.

About ole:
is one of the world's foremost rights management companies with investments of over $320M in music intellectual property (IP). Founded in 2004, with operations in Toronto, Nashville, New York and Los Angeles, ole is engaged in IP acquisitions, creative development, and worldwide rights management. The ole catalog includes over 45,000 songs and 60,000 hours of TV and film music across all genres. Copyrights under ole's control include songs recorded by artists such as the Backstreet Boys, Beyoncé, Blake Shelton, Britney Spears, Carrie Underwood, Eric Church, Jay Z, Justin Timberlake, Kelly Clarkson, Madonna, Michael Jackson, One Direction, Rihanna, Rush, Steven Tyler, Taylor Swift, and Timbaland. ole controls substantial A/V music and secondary rights including catalogs from Sony Pictures Entertainment, DHX, MGM, Miramax, Nelvana and Nu Image/Millennium. MusicBox, the Production Music division of ole, provides quality content and service to creators in all media with over 150,000 tracks in its library.

ole is committed to the creative development of its 100+ staff songwriters, legacy writers and composers and adding value to our catalogs and client catalogs. Current ole writers include Rush, Timbaland, Tyler Farr, Josh Dorr, Gord Bamford, Brett Jones, Dave Turnbull and Marty Dodson. ole has ongoing Ventures with Last Gang Publishing, Roots Three Music, Jackoby Publishing and most recently ole-bluestone Publishing, ole's venture with global hitmaker Timbaland. 

ole is proud to be associated with its bank partners SunTrust, JP Morgan Securities, CIT Finance, Fifth Third Bank, Avenue Bank, City National Bank and OneWest Bank.

ole is committed to being the world's best and most innovative Rights Management Company and the preferred destination for IP Investors and Creators in all Media.

For more information, visit

Image Available:

Contact Information