April 02, 2012 17:22 ET

ole Wins 'Song of the Year' ACM Award For 'Crazy Girl'

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - April 2, 2012) -

Editors Note: There is a photo associated with this press release.

As it was the first presentation of the night, ole didn't have to wait long for their time in the spotlight at the 47th annual Academy of Country Music (ACM) Awards in Las Vegas on April 1, as they won Song of the Year for "Crazy Girl," co-written by ole legacy writer, Liz Rose, with Lee Brice and performed by Eli Young Band.

Eli Young Band took the song to #1 on the country chart the week of November 11, 2011. The song was also nominated for Single of the Year. The band was up for Group of the Year. "Crazy Girl" was one of three ole #1 country songs last year.

ole CEO Robert Ott, President Michael McCarty and Chief Creative Officer Gilles Godard shared the stage with the writers and group in accepting the award.

ole's presence on the CBS-televised awards also extended to three ole songs on the show including "Crazy Girl" by Eli Young Band and showcased live performances from the stage of the MGM Grand Garden Arena of "Springsteen" by Eric Church, a co-write of ole writer, Ryan Tyndell, and "For You" by Keith Urban, a co-write with his long-time collaborator, ole's Monty Powell. "For You," which is Urban's new single and video, was featured during the end credits of the film Act of Valor, the Navy SEAL action thriller released at the end of February. It was the first time the songwriting duo had written a song specifically for a movie.

Eric Church also had nominations for Album of the Year for his hit album, Chief (EMI Nashville), as well as for Music Video of the Year for "Homeboy." Arturo (Arthur) Buenahora Jr., ole's GM Creative, Nashville, who performed an Executive Producer role on Chief, was nominated with Jay Joyce as Producer of the Year for Church's album, which contains two co-writes from Tyndell: "Springsteen" and "Keep On."

ole is currently charting with "Springsteen" (Eric Church), "Got My Country On" (Chris Cagle) and "I'm Gonna Love You Through It" (Martina McBride).


Backstage at the Academy of Country Music Awards in Las Vegas (l-r) ole Chief Creative Officer Gilles Godard; Drew Alexander, Director of Publishing, Curb Records; ole President Michael McCarty; Big Machine Records CEO Scott Borchetta; and ole CEO Robert Ott.

About ole:

ole is one of the world's largest independent music publishers. Founded in 2004, and with offices in Toronto, Nashville and Los Angeles, ole boasts a team of 40 experienced industry professionals focused on acquisitions, creative development and worldwide copyright administration. ole has recently entered the Production Music space with operations in the U.S. (MusicBox) and Canada (clear).

ole has been named Canadian Country Music Association's Music Publishing Company of the Year for the past five years and earned its first Grammy Award in 2009 for Best Country Song, "White Horse." Other recent notable ole awards include: SESAC 2011 Country Performance Activity Award for "Til Summer Comes Around" (Monty Powell/Keith Urban); three BMI 2011 Most Performed Songs Awards for "Fearless" (Liz Rose, Taylor Swift); "Why Wait" (Jimmy Yeary, Tom Shapiro) and "Let Me Down Easy" (Marty Dodson, Jennifer Hanson, Mark Nesler); 2011 SOCAN Country Music Award for "Make Hay While The Sun Shines" (Steven Lee Olsen, Bruce Wallace); 2011 SOCAN Domestic Television Series Music Award "Busytown Mysteries" (Peter Coulman, Carl Lenox, David Tedesco); and 2011 SOCAN Award for 100,000 Radio Performances of Lighthouse's "Sunny Days" and "Pretty Lady" (Skip Prokop).

The ole catalog includes over 45,000 songs and 40,000 hours of TV music across all genres. ole has completed over $115MM USD in acquisitions, including purchases of music catalogs: Blacktop, Jody Williams Music, Rami Yacoub, Chris Wallin, Rick Giles, Balmur, Keith Follese, Lighthouse, Frank Myers, Dream Warriors, Encore, David Tyson, and Marsfilm Music. ole has also purchased the worldwide music rights for TV catalogs such as WGBH, Cookie Jar, Cineflix, CCI and recently, "The Cat In The Hat Knows A Lot About That."

ole is committed to the creative development of its 60+ staff songwriters, legacy writers and composers and the cultivation of our catalogs and client catalogs. ole has ongoing co-ventures with Last Gang Publishing (Alt Rock), Roots Three Music (Country) and tanjola (Pop/Rock/Urban).

ole is an expert in administrating and sub-publishing music copyrights and has concluded worldwide publishing administration agreements with some of the world's leading songwriters, publishers and film and television producers. adminow, ole's online client account transparency portal, was launched recently and demonstrates ole's commitment to modernizing its client services and to leading-edge IT.

Notable copyrights for ole include Taylor Swift singles "Fearless," "White Horse," "Tim McGraw," "Picture To Burn," "Teardrops On My Guitar"; Rascal Flatts' "Why Wait"; Kelly Clarkson's "Miss Independent"; and "I'm Not a Girl, Not Yet a Woman" by Britney Spears; Pink's "You and Your Hand; "It's Gonna Be Me" from 'N Sync'; "Shape of My Heart" by Backstreet Boys; iconic Canadian Olympic theme "I Believe"; "Black Velvet" by Alannah Myles; Tim McGraw's "Something Like That."

ole owns or represents up to 150,000 production music tracks within its MusicBox and clear libraries. With 9 staff in North America, ole's Production Music division delivers excellent customer service and quality Creative on a leading edge IT platform. Our production music division leverages ole's established Administration, Finance and IT services.

ole is committed to being the best and most innovative global destination for world-class songwriters, composers, and management talent, and the first choice music source for creators in all media.

To view the photo associated with this press release, please visit the following link: http://www.marketwire.com/library/20120404-smile8.jpg.

Contact Information