SOURCE: Iowa State Fair

January 24, 2007 15:16 ET

One New Member Elected to Iowa State Fair Board

DES MOINES, IA -- (MARKET WIRE) -- January 24, 2007 --One new member was elected to the Iowa State Fair Board of Directors during the State Agricultural Convention held December 15-17 in Des Moines.

Gary McConnell of Bloomfield, in the southeast district, was elected to a two-year term. McConnell, a retired UPS driver, has been involved with the Davis County Fair for several years and is set to be honored for his volunteer work at Davis County Schools this March. He and his wife Linda were charter members of the Fair's Blue Ribbon Foundation.

Other directors re-elected to two-year terms and their districts are Jeanne Partlow, Manson and Ankeny (northwest); James Romer, Ames (north central); Paul Vaassen, Dubuque (northeast); Gary VanAernam, Exira (southwest); and Jerry Parkin, Earlham (south central).

Delegates from six geographic State Fair Board districts elect two board members each for a total of 12 directors. All terms are staggered two-year terms.

Other directors include Bill Neubrand, LeMars (northwest); Don Greiman, Garner (north central); Dave Huinker, Decorah (northeast); C.W. Thomas, Guthrie Center (southwest); Randy Brown, Osceola (south central); and Bob Schlutz, Columbus Junction (southeast).

Parkin, VanAernam and Partlow will serve the Board as president, vice-president and treasurer respectively.

Directors by office held are Governor Chet Culver (represented by Lieutenant Govenor Patty Judge), Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey and Iowa State University President Gregory Geoffroy (represented by Dr. Chuck Morris, director of 4-H Youth Development at Iowa State University).

The 2007 Iowa State Fair "Sounds Like Fun" August 9-19. For more information visit call 800/545-FAIR or visit

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Lori Chappell
    515/262-3111, ext. 204