April 26, 2011 05:27 ET

Online Qualifier Niall Smyth Wins Irish Open

Niall Smyth Spins EUR10 Each Way Bet On Grand National Winner Into EUR650,000 At Europe's Oldest Poker Tournament

DUBLIN, IRELAND--(Marketwire - April 26, 2011) -

Editors Note: There is a photo accompanying this press release.

Niall Smyth has won the 2011 paddypowerpoker.comIrish Open. He topped the field of 615 players at the €3,200 + €300 buy in event at the Burlington Hotel, Dublin to take down the €550,000 first prize in the early hours of Tuesday morning.

Smyth was a double winner as he also scooped €100,000 in tournament buy ins and cash for being the paddypowerpoker.comSoleSurvivor, outlasting 160 online qualifiers including two at the final table.

The young Irishman qualified for the event after winning a GrandNational bet at, transferring the winnings to his poker account and winning a satellite.

He beat IrishOpen stalwart and former WorldPokerTour champion Surinder Sunar from England heads up. He held a commanding chip lead at the start of the heads up dual but Sunar fought back to take the lead before losing it again and much of his momentum. In the end Smyth had to river a 5 to make a pair and overturn Sunar's ace-high.

"Unbelievable. I just can't believe it," said an exhausted but elated Smyth after the 3 hour 30 minute heads up slog. "It started when I put €10 each way on the winner of the English Grand National, I won €200 euro and now I have €650,000. Surinder is such a great player, my support has been fantastic, and here I am!"

The final table payouts were:
1: Niall Smyth (Ireland) - €550,000
2: Surinder Sunar (England) - €290,000
3: Martin Petri (Denmark) - €180,000
4: Seamus Cahill (Ireland) - €145,000
5: Aleksi Savela (Finand) - €115,000
6: Karl Rudwall (Sweden) - €85,000
7: Rob Taylor (Ireland) - €63,000
8: John Eames (UK) - €45,000
9: Niall McCann (Ireland) - €30,000
The chips counts going into the final day's play were:
Niall Smyth - 2,038,000
John Eames -1,783,000
Aleksi Savela - 1,594,000
Martin Petri - 1,530,000
Surinder Sunar -1,366,000
Karl Rudwall - 1,329,000
Seamus Cahill - 1,310,000
Robert Taylor - 915,000
Niall McCann - 434,000

The total prize pool created was €1,968,000 and 64 players got paid with the bubble, Oliver Lynch, receiving a buy in to next year's IrishOpen from sponsor

Note to editors:

Photographs of the final table and winner can be found at: - please credit Maxwell when re-posting or printing images. The story of the event, including the final table bust out hands and full list of payouts, can be found at the Paddy Power Poker Blog.

To view the photo accompanying this press release, please visit the following link:

Contact Information


Keyword Cloud

View Website