Ontario Energy Association

Ontario Energy Association

September 17, 2008 17:00 ET

Ontario Energy Association (OEA) Announces 2008 'Leader of the Year' and 'Company of the Year' Award Recipients

Annual Awards Dinner Held in Niagara Falls

NIAGARA FALLS, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Sept. 17, 2008) - The Ontario Energy Association (OEA) is pleased to announce Mr. Tom Heintzman, President of Bullfrog Power Inc., as the 2008 OEA Leader of the Year. The award was presented at the OEA's Annual Awards Dinner, hosted at the Sheraton Fallsview Hotel and Conference Centre, and held in conjunction with the 2008 OEA Conference on Industry Leadership and Innovation.

Portlands Energy Centre (PEC) - a partnership between Ontario Power Generation and TransCanada Energy Ltd. - was announced as the 2008 OEA Company of the Year, and was represented at the Annual Awards Dinner by PEC Chairman Jim Twomey, PEC President Finn Greflund and PEC Director Jim Burpee.

"This year's award recipients, true to the theme of this year's conference, are both outstanding examples of leadership and innovation in the industry today," said Brian Tobin, Chair of the OEA's Awards Selection Panel. "Tom Heintzman and his team at Bullfrog have demonstrated both of these qualities by introducing an innovative business model that provides Ontarians with a true alternative energy option. Bullfrog has become emblematic of the innovative spirit that is necessary to ensure Ontario remains at the forefront of renewable energy development - and a leader in customer-focused renewable energy options."

"The Portlands Energy Centre team is also to be commended for its vision and dedication to bringing a key 550-megawatt combined cycle natural gas generating station on line earlier this year, on time and on budget," Tobin stated. "That is quite an accomplishment, especially for a project of this size and complexity."

"PEC has been successful because of its strong project partnerships, commitment to community relations and having supportive stakeholders from the start," Tobin added. "As a result, PEC is ready and able to supply electricity to Toronto and support further economic growth and development in the city."

OEA President and CEO Shane Pospisil noted that the Annual Awards Dinner is an opportunity for Ontario's energy sector to come together to celebrate accomplishment and achievement. "This year's award recipients have clearly demonstrated an ability to turn challenge into opportunity, and vision into reality. Tom Heintzman, Bullfrog Power and the Portlands Energy Centre partnership serve to remind all of us of the fundamental importance of leadership, innovation and teamwork within our industry."

In addition to the OEA's signature Leader of the Year and Company of the Year awards, ten Certificates of Achievement for Industry Leadership awards were also announced. These include:

Honourable Dwight Duncan, Minister of Finance/Former Minister of Energy
Leadership and Innovation - Renewable Energy and Conservation

Hydro Ottawa
Leadership and Corporate Performance

OEA Occupational Health & Safety Committee
Industry Leadership - Occupational Health & Safety

Jan Carr, Ontario Power Authority
Industry Leadership

Bruce Boland, Ontario Power Generation
Industry Leadership

David Civiero, The Link-Line Group of Companies
Industry Leadership

Jasmine Urisk, JTU Consulting
Industry Leadership

Paul McMillan, Epcor Power Development Corporation
Industry Leadership

Dennis Fotinos, Enwave Energy Corporation
Innovation - Renewable Energy and Conservation

Stanton Farms, Ilderton, Ontario
Innovation - Renewable Energy

The 200-member Ontario Energy Association (OEA) is Ontario's premier energy trade organization, representing firms and organizations involved in the transmission, distribution and marketing of natural gas; and the generation, transmission, distribution and marketing of electricity across the province. OEA members together employ about 32,000 Ontarians and last year accounted for almost $35 billion in market revenues.

Contact Information