SOURCE: slp3D

April 21, 2005 14:06 ET

OR-Live.com Presents: Endovascular Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm (AAA) Repair With the GORE EXCLUDER® Bifurcated Endoprostheses - A Minimally Invasive Treatment Option for Patients With Abdominal

Aortic Aneurysms (AAA)

Live Webcast: Wednesday, June 22, 2005 at 4 PM CT, 5 PM ET, (21:00 UTC)

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK -- (MARKET WIRE) -- April 21, 2005 -- On June 22, 2005, at 4 p.m.(CT) Jim Melton, D.O., of Oklahoma Cardiovascular Associates, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, will perform an endovascular abdominal aortic aneurysm (AAA) repair with the GORE EXCLUDER® Bifurcated Endoprosthesis on www.OR-Live.com. The procedure will be performed at Oklahoma Heart Hospital and moderated by Lenny Stubbs, M.D.

The annual mortality from abdominal aortic aneurysm (AAA) rupture is 15,000 patients, making it the 13th leading cause of death in the US. Traditional surgical treatment of AAA involves a large incision to place a synthetic graft to repair the diseased artery. This method can result in long hospital stays and painful recoveries.

Gore's EXCLUDER® Bifurcated Endoprosthesis is an innovative device designed to be a minimally invasive treatment option for patients with abdominal aortic aneurysms (AAA). It is constructed of a durable ePTFE bifurcated graft with an outer self-expanding Nitinol support structure to combine both device flexibility and material durability. The function of the endoprosthesis is to internally reline the abdominal aorta, including the bifurcation, and isolate the aneurysm from blood circulation. The device is inserted by a catheter-based delivery technique through small incisions in the patient's legs. The expected outcomes of this new treatment option include decreased procedural times and shorter hospital stays.

Visit http://www.or-live.com/gore/1313 to learn more and view a program preview. A VNR is available at http://www.or-live.com/rams/wlg-1313-mkw-q.ram

GORE and EXCLUDER® are trademarks of W. L. Gore & Associates.

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Alex Fraser
    Director of Marketing
    slp3D, Inc
    860-953-2900 x 214