SOURCE: OR-Live, Inc.

July 15, 2008 13:59 ET

ORLive Presents: Advances in Parotidectomy and Minimally Invasive Thyroidectomy Procedures

Live Webcast: From the University of California San Francisco Medical Center: July 30, 2008 6:00 pm EDT / 5:00 pm CDT / 4:00 pm MDT / 3:00 pm PDT (22:00 UTC)

SAN FRANCISCO, CA--(Marketwire - July 15, 2008) - Join head and neck surgeons, Dr. Lisa Orloff and Dr. David Terris, for a live webcast on technical advances in Parotidectomy and Minimally Invasive Thyroidectomy surgeries. The free one-hour live presentation is scheduled to take place at 3:00 p.m. PDT (6:00 p.m. EDT) from the University of California San Francisco Medical Center in San Francisco, California.

The webcast offers a unique learning opportunity for novice and experienced surgeons alike. Viewers will be able to see footage of Parotidectomy and Minimally Invasive Thyroidectomy surgeries presented by the expert panel. The webcast will also feature an informative didactic segment on surgical techniques used in head and neck surgery. Viewers may participate in the program by sending email questions to the surgeons at any time during the live event.

Parotidectomy

During the hour-long webcast, Dr. Orloff will present a revision superficial parotidectomy including facial nerve identification and atraumatic dissection. The technique for superficial parotidectomy is well-established with the outcome of disease removal and facial nerve function related in part to the skill and experience of the operative surgeon. Meticulous hemostasis is critical to the successful identification and effective dissection of the facial nerve, and complete intact tumor removal is critical to the prevention of tumor recurrence. The program will demonstrate how Harmonic® technology can provide simultaneous hemostasis and tissue lysis during parotidectomy and dissection along the facial nerve and its branches.

The presentation will include a didactic portion that reviews the approach to evaluation and management of benign and malignant parotid tumors. Applications of Harmonic® instrumentation to other head and neck procedures will also be discussed.

Minimally Invasive Thyroidectomy

Dr. Terris will demonstrate the endoscopic Thyroidectomy technique. This minimally invasive approach to thyroid diseases uses a combination of high-resolution endoscopy and Harmonic® energy to accomplish a Thyroidectomy through an incision of approximately 3/4 of an inch. Because of the reliable hemostasis that is maintained, drains are not necessary, and nearly all patients go home immediately following surgery. The Harmonic® device is particularly useful in managing the superior and inferior pole vasculature, and obviates the need for either sutures or clips during the entire procedure.

Presenters

Lisa A. Orloff, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Robert K. Werbe Distinguished Professor in Head and Neck Cancer
Chief, Division of Head & Neck & Endocrine Surgery
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA

David J. Terris, M.D., F.A.C.S.
Porubsky Professor and Chairman
Department of Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery
Surgical Director of MCG Thyroid Center
Medical College of Georgia
Augusta, GA

A Flash archive of the presentation will be posted after the live webcast.

This presentation may include demonstration of the use of surgical devices; it is not intended to be used as a surgical training guide. Other surgeons may employ different techniques. Individual surgeon preference and experience, as well as patient needs, should always dictate variation in procedure steps. Before using any medical device, including those demonstrated or referenced in this presentation, review all relevant package inserts, with particular attention to the indications, contraindications, warnings and precautions, and steps for use of the device. This presentation is the work of the author and may not necessarily reflect the views of Ethicon Endo-Surgery, Inc.

DSL 08-0708.3 © 2008

To learn more about this event and view a program preview visit OR-Live

VNR: www.OR-Live.com

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Alex Fraser
    Direct of Marketing
    OR-Live
    860 953 2900 x214
    Email Contact