SOURCE: OSSTF/FEESO - Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

OSSTF/FEESO - Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

February 22, 2016 11:26 ET

OSSTF/FEESO District 6B Teacher/Occasional Teachers and the Superior-Greenstone District School Board Have Reached a Tentative Local Agreement

RED ROCK, ON--(Marketwired - February 22, 2016) - The Superior-Greenstone District School Board (SGDSB) and the Teacher/Occasional Teacher Bargaining Unit of the Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF/FEESO) in District 6B, Superior North reached a tentative local agreement on Friday, February 19, 2016. Details of the agreement will not be released until after both parties complete the ratification process.

"Despite the many challenges with the new two-tiered bargaining process, we were able to bargain a local agreement that addressed many of both parties' concerns. We are happy that we now have a local tentative agreement," said Buzz Grebenc, President of the OSSTF/FEESO, District 6B Teacher/Occasional Teacher Bargaining Unit. "We appreciate the resolve of our bargaining team and those on the Board's team to work together respectfully to get this deal done. This shows that collective bargaining works."

"A lot of time and effort has gone into these negotiations and I applaud the determination of both parties in reaching this tentative agreement," said Director of Education, David Tamblyn.

The agreement covers approximately 180 permanent contract and occasional teachers working in the SGDSB's secondary schools.

Ratification of the tentative deal will take place over the next few weeks.

OSSTF/FEESO, founded in 1919, has 60,000 members across Ontario. They include public high school teachers, occasional teachers, educational assistants, continuing education teachers and instructors, early childhood educators, psychologists, secretaries, speech-language pathologists, social workers, plant support personnel, university support staff, and many others in education.

Contact Information

  • Contact: 
    Sue Doughty-Smith
    Executive Officer
    Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation