SOURCE: OSSTF/FEESO - Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

OSSTF/FEESO - Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

March 12, 2016 14:00 ET

OSSTF/FEESO Student Achievement Awards 2016

TORONTO, ON--(Marketwired - March 12, 2016) - On Saturday, March 12 at the annual meeting of the Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF/FEESO), students from across Ontario were honoured for their outstanding abilities and creativity as provincial winners of the Student Achievement Awards in honour of Marion Drysdale.

For over twenty-five years, the Student Achievement Awards have been one of Ontario's most prestigious awards celebrating the artistic and academic creations of students in public high schools. Any Ontario public high school student may enter work into one of eight categories and submissions are judged on school, district, regional and provincial levels. The eight provincial winners are brought to Toronto to receive their awards at the OSSTF/FEESO annual general meeting and they are featured in a twenty minute video. Each provincial winner also receives a cash award of $1,000.

This year's theme, Laugh Out Loud, inspired students to explore the topic through prose, poetry, painting and video.

OSSTF/FEESO President Paul Elliott presented the awards to the following:

Prose and Poetry Division

Category A2-Intermediate, 9-10 Applied/Essential

Rosie Leggott, Sir Winston Churchill Secondary School, District 21, Hamilton-Wentworth

*Category A3-Senior, 11-12 University

Manveer Kaur Kalirai, Iroquois Ridge High School, District 20, Halton

Kalvin Thye, Bloor Collegiate Institute, District 12, Toronto


Category A5-French

Alexandra Vaupotic, Walkerville Collegiate Institute, District 9, Greater Essex 

Creative Division

Category B1-Visual Arts, Intermediate, 9-10

Rayne Cauchi, South Collegiate Institute, District 11, Thames Valley

Category B2-Visual Arts, Senior, 11-12

Alifa Frebrian, Sir Winston Churchill Secondary School, District 21, Hamilton-Wentworth

Category B3-Digital Arts, 9-12

Clara Mustata, Glenforest Secondary School, District 19, Peel 

Unable to attend the ceremony was the Prose and Poetry Category A1-Intermediate, 9-10 Academic winner, Emma Lee, Osgoode Township High School, District 25, Ottawa-Carleton.


The Student Achievement Awards ceremony features a professionally produced twenty minute video about the students and their winning submissions. Please contact the OSSTF/FEESO provincial office to order a copy.

OSSTF/FEESO, founded in 1919, has 60,000 members across Ontario. They include public high school teachers, occasional teachers, educational assistants, continuing education teachers and instructors, early childhood educators, psychologists, secretaries, speech-language pathologists, social workers, plant support personnel, university support staff, and many others in education.

Contact Information

  • Contact: 
    Randy Banderob, Executive Assistant
    Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
    416.432.3304 or after March 14 at 416.751.8300