OSSTF/FEESO - Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

OSSTF/FEESO - Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation

May 06, 2009 14:04 ET

OSSTF Recognizes Excellence in Student Achievement at Banquet

THUNDER BAY, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - May 6, 2009) - In the fall of 1980 the Executive Officers of the Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF) District 29, Superior, which comprised the high schools in Geraldton, Hornepayne, Manitouwadge, Marathon, Nipigon-Red Rock, Schreiber-Terrace Bay and Thunder Bay decided to establish a programme to recognize the high levels of achievement attained by students of the high schools in a variety of school and community endeavors.

The first banquet, at which 45 students were honoured, was held in May 1981. This unique programme quickly became well known and has continued for 29 years.

This year approximately 325 students, guardians, educators and guests will attend the banquet. OSSTF District 6A, Thunder Bay and District 6B, Superior North includes students from Thunder Bay, Marathon, Terrace Bay, Schreiber, Manitouwadge, Nipigon, Red Rock, and Geraldton. In addition, more than 250 certificates recognizing student achievements will be presented at school assemblies.

Students are selected by staff members of their schools to be recognized for their achievements in the following categories:

- Academic Excellence

- Athletics

- Business Skills & Achievement

- Citizenship

- Communications

- Personal Achievement

- Student Leadership

- Technical Skills & Achievement

- The Arts

Invited guests include administration and trustees from both the Lakehead District School Board and the Superior-Greenstone District School Board, Michael Gravelle, Minister of Northern Development, and Mines, Bill Mauro, MPP, Thunder Bay Atikokan Riding, and OSSTF Provincial Executive and Secretariat.

Date: Saturday, May 9, 2009
Location: Confederation College (Ryan Hall)
Registration/Displays: 6:00 p.m.
Dinner: 6:30 p.m.
Entertainment: 7:30 p.m. Hillcrest High School Jazz Band
Welcome Address: 8:00 p.m.
Presentations: 8:15 p.m.

OSSTF/FEESO, founded in 1919, has 60,000 members across Ontario. They include public high school teachers, occasional teachers, educational assistants, continuing education teachers and instructors, psychologists, secretaries, speech-language pathologists, social workers, plant support personnel, attendance counsellors, and many others in education.

Contact Information

  • Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
    Terri McKirdy
    807-623-3671 (FAX)
    Email: tmckirdy@shawcable.com