SOURCE: Online Trust Alliance (OTA)

Online Trust Alliance (OTA)

October 29, 2009 08:00 ET

OTA Appoints Visionaries in Privacy, Security and eCommerce to Board

Announce Nominations for Online Safety Awards

SEATTLE, WA--(Marketwire - October 29, 2009) - The Online Trust Alliance announced an expansion of the Board of Directors reflecting the significant growth of the organization and the urgency of addressing the escalating threats to consumer, ecommerce and online banking.

Bringing extensive expertise in privacy, security and interactive marketing, the board has appointed five additional board members representing a cross section of leading brands, researchers and innovative services. New board members include; David Daniels - Vice President, Forrester Research; Dianna Koltz - Director of Best Practices, Adperio; David Lewis - Chief Marketing Officer, Message Systems; Fran Maier, CEO, TRUSTe; and Sal Tripi, Senior Director of Operations and Compliance, Publishers Clearing House.

These individuals are recognized for their leadership and joint development of the OTA Online Principles and Guidelines recently released. These appointments augment the existing board which includes Erik Johnson, EVP of Bank of America; Manish Goel, CEO of BoxSentry; Charles Stiles of Goodmail Systems; Tom Bartel of Return Path, Pablo Stern of Symantec and Howard Schmidt. Combined the Board represents pioneers and champions of consumer trust, online security and interactive marketing.

"The additions to the board will greatly aid OTA in addressing these critical issues impacting businesses and consumers alike. With their leadership, OTA is positioned to help businesses create compelling trust value propositions, providing their brands and consumer 'trust dividends' for years to come," said Craig Spiezle, Founder and Executive Director of OTA.

Coinciding with these appointments, OTA has announced the call for submissions for the 2009 Online Safety Awards. This annual award program recognizes companies for their efforts to protect consumers, via a combination of education, innovative technologies, citizenship and leadership. The 2008 winner was VeriSign for their Extended Validation SSL certificate consumer education campaign, joining previous winners including the Bank of America, Microsoft Corporation, and PayPal. More information on the awards program may be found at

About The Online Trust Alliance (OTA)

OTA's mission is to create a trusted global online ecosystem and foster the elimination of email and Internet fraud, abuse and cybercrime; thereby enhancing trust, confidence, and the protection of businesses and consumers. OTA is governed by a Board and Steering Committee including: Adperio, Bank of America, BoxSentry, Datran Media, Epsilon, Goodmail Systems, Iconix, Internet Identity, Intersections, Lashback, Cisco Systems, MarkMonitor, Message Systems, Microsoft Corporation, McAfee, Publishers Clearing House, Return Path, Secunia, Symantec Corporation, TRUSTe and VeriSign.

Contact Information