The Terry Fox Foundation

The Terry Fox Foundation

September 13, 2005 20:27 ET

Over Three Million Students In Terry Fox Run This Friday.

Students and educators mobilize for possibly the largest event in Canadian history. Attention: Assignment Editor, City Editor, Education Editor, Lifestyle Editor, Sports Editor MONTREAL--(CCNMatthews - Sept. 13, 2005) - On Friday, September 16th, and Sunday, September 18th, an estimated 3.5 to 4 million Canadians will be running or walking in Terry Fox Runs for cancer research.

On this Friday, Sept. 16, to commemorate the 25th anniversary of Terry Fox's Marathon of Hope, 10,000 schools (two thirds of the schools in Canada) with over 3.3 million students will be running or walking to raise funds for cancer research in a massive coast to coast, simultaneous Terry Fox Run.

"It will be one of the largest events in Canadian history, and a historic day for Canada's schools," states Peter Sheremeta, National School Run Organizer of The Terry Fox Foundation "Two thirds of the students in the country are going to take part. To give an idea of the size of Friday's event, if every student taking part was to run or walk an average of 1 km, it would be the equivalent of 75 laps around the planet. It is inspiring to see that 25 years after the Marathon of Hope, students are seizing the torch that Terry left us".

Schools have been invited to synchronize their start times: 9:00 Pacific, 10:00 Mountain, 11:00 Central, 12:00 Eastern, 13:00 Atlantic, and 13:30, Newfoundland.

It is not too late for schools to register to take part. They can visit www.terryfoxrun.org or call 1-888-836-9786 for more information.

On Sunday, Sept. 18, the entire country is invited to take part in a Terry Fox Run near their community by running, walking or wheeling in one of almost a 1000 locations across Canada. For more information and for runsite listings, visit www.terryfoxrun.org or call 1-888-836-9786. A record turnout is expected for the 25th anniversary of the Terry Fox Run.

To date, over $ 360 million has been raised in Terry Fox's name in over 50 countries.
/For further information: Jennifer Beauchamp
Provincial Coordinator
The Terry Fox Foundation
toll free 1-888-836-9786
tel 514-499-9747
fax 514-499-9924
email qc@terryfoxrun.org
www.terryfoxrun.org/ IN: EDUCATION, HEALTH, SOCIAL, SPORTS, OTHER

Contact Information

  • Peter Sheremeta, National School Run Organizer, Terry Fox Foundation
    Primary Phone: 514-871-3909
    Secondary Phone: 514-499-9747
    Toll-Free: 888-837-7925
    E-mail: terry25@terryfoxrun.org