Royal Canadian Golf Association

Royal Canadian Golf Association

September 09, 2005 11:36 ET


- 11 former champions confirmed to play - Attention: Sports Editor, Travel/Tourism Editor PETERBOROUGH, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Sept. 9, 2005) - Peterborough Golf & Country Club will welcome some of North America's elite women golfers next week as the BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Tour Championship takes place September 11 - 14 in Peterborough, Ontario.

Conducted by the Royal Canadian Golf Association and sanctioned by the Canadian Professional Golfers' Association, the Canadian Women's Tour is the only women's developmental tour in Canada. Open to professionals, top amateurs and elite junior golfers the Canadian Women's Tour offers top championship play and competitive purses.

Offering a season high purse of $50,000, the top competitors from the five event Canadian Women's Tour will go head to head in the final showdown of the season. Among the 57 competitors, 15 played at this year's 2005 BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Open, 11 are past winners on the BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Tour and two have earned non-exempt status on the LPGA Tour.

Defending Canadian Women's Tour Champion Vicki Appleton of Peterborough, Ont., will use her home course advantage looking to repeat as Canadian Women's Tour champion while Natalie Tucker of Jupiter, Fla. will be primed to use her victory last year at Peterborough Golf & Country Club to upset the local favourite. Appleton won the Canadian Women's Tour Championship in Halifax last season while Tucker earned her victory at the Canadian Women's Tour event held just weeks before in Peterborough.

Also in the hunt will be the four winners from this year's Canadian Women's Tour including Leila Chartrand of Victoria, B.C., Linda Shephard of Brighton, Ont., Cortney Reno of Grosse Ile, Michigan and 2005 Canadian PGA Women's Champion Lorna Miedema of Calgary, Alta.

Reno is in control of the 2005 Canadian Women's Tour Order of Merit prize, having a substantial 625 point lead on Marie-Josée Rouleau, St-Lambert, QC. All Reno needs to do is finish ninth or better at next week's championship to clinch the Canadian Women's Tour Order of Merit which will award an additional $3,000 bonus and earn her the inaugural Jocelyne Bourassa Player of the Year honours.

Additionally, 2004 Order of Merit winner Alena Sharp of Hamilton, Ont. will compete next week in Peterborough. Sharp, along with Tucker used the BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Tour as training ground for their eventual qualification as non-exempt LPGA Tour players for the 2005 season.

"We are thrilled to bring the BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Tour back to Peterborough especially for our Canadian Women's Tour Championship." said Tournament Director Jeff Moore. "It's been an exciting year so far and we have a lot of great players here ready to make a splash before the season ends."

The Canadian Women's Tour Championship in Peterborough marks the end of the 2005 season and year-end awards for the Order of Merit leader, top club / teaching professional and top amateur will be handed at the trophy presentation immediately following play on Wednesday, September 14.

Action begins at the course on Saturday, September 10 with a pro-am conducted by Peterborough Golf & Country Club. On Sunday BMO Financial Group will host a clinic and pro-am for selected clients and guests. Tournament play begins Monday, September 12 and concludes on the 14th. Start times and pairings will be available on line at as of Sunday, September, 11th.

The following is a listing of players competing in BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Tour Championship at Peterborough Golf Club in Peterborough, Ont., from September 11-14, 2005.

Vicki Appleton, Peterborough, ON
Donna Basil, San Francisco, CA
Claudia Beauchesne, Gatineau, QC
(a) Ashley Bickerton, Ottawa, ON
(a) Elise Brandt, Langley, BC
Lanie Cahill, Brockville, ON
Leila Chartrand, Victoria, BC
Mary-Lee Cobick, Amos, QC
(a) Gabrielle Cyr, Blainville, QC
Heather Dobbin, Peterborough, ON
Stephanie Donkin, Edson, AB
Jelana Duncan, Scarborough, ON
Claire Dury, Palmerston North, NZ
Liz Earley, St. Catharines, ON
(a) Lindsey Edmunds, London, ON
Katie Ferguson, Minett, ON
Rhonda Fleury, Stouffville, ON
Angie Green, London, ON
Jo Anne Grove, Kelowna, BC
(a) Jill Hardy, Winnipeg, MB
Cuyler Hedley, Cobourg, ON
Kari Hilton, London, ON
Tiarra Honce, Kelowna, BC
Corina Kelepouris, Drayton Valley, AB
Melissa Keller, Temecula, CA
(a) Stephanie Lam, Toronto, ON
Jennifer Layman, Pembroke, ON
Stefi Markovich, Welland, ON
Theresa McDermott, Toronto, ON
Lisa Meldrum, Montreal, QC
Lorna Miedema, Calgary, AB
Cheryl Mitchell, Walpole Island, ON
Christina Monacelli, Palm Beach Gardens, FL
(a) Courtnay Montgomery, Palm Beach, FL
Marianne Morris, Middletown, OH
Salimah Mussani, Burlington, ON
Kareen Qually, Olds, AB
Mary-Pat Quilty, Midland, ON
Cortney Reno, Grosse Ile, MI
Holly Reynolds, Morrisville, VT
Mary Ritchie, Hudson, QC
Aileen Robertson, Kelowna, BC
Kathleen Robinson, Alexandria, VA
Marie-Josée Rouleau, St-Lambert, QC
Nisha Sadekar, Stouffville, ON
Sylvie Schetagne, Delson, QC
Alena Sharp, Hamilton, ON
Linda Shephard, Brighton, ON
Jessica Shepley, Oakville, ON
(a) Stephanie Simich, Clarkson, ON
Perry Swenson, Charlotte, NC
Natalie Tucker, Jupiter, FL
Carrie Vaughan, Burlington, ON
Samantha White, Atlanta, GA
Jennifer Wiegand, Fairdale, IL
Shayne Wild, Greenville, NC
Louise Zylstra, Toronto, ON

(a) denotes amateur

More information about the BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Tour including a full listing of competitors, post-round results and championship start times will be available on the Canadian Women's Tour section of the Royal Canadian Golf Association at

About BMO's Involvement with Golf
In addition to being the proud title sponsor of the Canadian Women's Tour and the Canadian Women's Open, the only Canadian stop on the LPGA Tour, BMO Financial Group is also the title sponsor of Future Links, a national development program for junior golfers. The program is designed to make the game more accessible for young golfers aged 5 to 18. For more information please visit

About The Royal Canadian Golf Association
The Royal Canadian Golf Association is the governing body of golf in Canada, representing close to 400,000 members nationwide. In addition to providing core services such as the Rules of Golf, handicapping, support of turfgrass and environmental research, and BMO Financial Group Future Links, Canada's national junior golf program and supporting the Canadian Golf Hall of Fame and Museum, the RCGA also conducts Canada's most prestigious golf championships. The Bell Canadian Open and BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Open attract the best professional golfers in the world, while six regional junior championships, 10 national amateur championships and the BMO Financial Group Canadian Women's Tour showcase the best of Canadian golf. For more information please visit

For more information:
Michael Grobe
Senior Communications Coordinator
Royal Canadian Golf Association
Phone: (905) 849-9700 x 230
Cell: (905) 467-2944


Contact Information

  • Michael Grobe, Senior Communications Coordinator, Royal Canadian Golf Association
    Primary Phone: 905-849-9700 ext. 230
    Secondary Phone: 905-467-2944
    Toll-Free: 800-263-0009