SOURCE: The Hickok Belt Award

The Hickok Belt Award

August 20, 2013 07:15 ET

Phil Mickelson Named the Monthly Hickok Belt™ Award Winner for July 2013

ROCHESTER, NY--(Marketwired - Aug 20, 2013) -  Professional golfer Phil Mickelson has been selected as the Hickok Belt Award winner for the month of July 2013. Voting was conducted by a select panel of members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA). Mickelson was selected based on his thrilling 2013 British Open win in which he came from five shots behind on the tournament's final day. His 5-under par 66 for the final round put him at 3-under par for the tournament, his first British Open title. The win came in his 20th British Open and marked his fifth major championship as a professional.

Other finalists for the month of July in order of how the NSSA voters ranked them included: Andy Murray (tennis), David Price (baseball), Chris Froome (cycling), Torii Hunter (baseball), Sabine Lisicki (tennis), Jayson Werth (baseball), Jimmie Johnson (auto racing), Koji Uehara (baseball), and Mark Wiebe (golf).

Mickelson's selection as the Hickok Belt Award winner for July 2013 recognizes him as "the best of the best" in professional sports for the month and makes him the fifth candidate eligible to receive the 2013 overall award. Phil joins other 2013 monthly winners Colin Kaepernick, Joe Flacco, Miguel Cabrera, and LeBron James as contenders for the overall 2013 Hickok Belt Award.

To learn more about the Hickok Belt Award and its rich history, please visit

Contact Information

  • News Media:
    For more information, contact:
    Larry Kleehammer
    Email Contact