Placer Dome Inc.
TSX : PDG
NYSE : PDG
ASX : PDG

Placer Dome Inc.

April 11, 2005 09:01 ET

Placer Dome announces first quarter conference call and Annual Meeting webcast

VANCOUVER, April 11 - Placer Dome Inc. (NYSE, TSX, ASX: PDG) will
hold its first quarter conference call and Annual Meeting of Shareholders on
Wednesday, April 27, 2005.

Placer Dome's first quarter conference call will be held at 10:00am
Eastern time/7:00am Pacific time. An audio webcast and accompanying slide
presentation will be accessible at www.placerdome.com/investors/webcasts.html.

Placer Dome's Annual Meeting of Shareholders will be held at 10:00am
Pacific time/1:00pm Eastern time in rooms 1-3 of the Vancouver Convention and
Exhibition Centre, 999 Canada Place, Vancouver, B.C. A video webcast of the
meeting will also be accessible at www.placerdome.com/investors/webcasts.html.
Archived versions of both webcasts will be available for replay shortly
following the live events.

The webcasts of the presentations may, but not necessarily will, include
forward-looking statements concerning Placer Dome's current outlook for 2005
and other areas relating to Placer Dome's business.

Placer Dome employs 13,000 people at 17 mines in seven countries. The
Vancouver-based company's shares trade on the Toronto, New York, Swiss and
Australian stock exchanges and Euronext-Paris under the symbol PDG.

%SEDAR: 00002304E

Contact Information

  • Investor Relations:
    Greg Martin
    (604) 661-3795
    Meghan Brown
    (604) 661-1577

    Media Relations:
    Gayle Stewart
    (604) 661-1911

    Toll-free within North America
    1-800-565-5815

    Head office:
    Suite 1600, Bentall IV,
    1055 Dunsmuir Street
    (PO Box 49330, Bentall Postal Station)
    Vancouver, B.C.
    Canada, V7X 1P1
    Tel: (604) 682-7082

    On the internet:
    www.placerdome.com