SOURCE: Universal Music Enterprises

Universal Music Enterprises

March 06, 2012 10:00 ET

Platinum-Selling Country Icon Gary Allan Added to Universal Music Enterprises' Prestigious Icon Series

SANTA MONICA, CA--(Marketwire - Mar 6, 2012) - Country superstar Gary Allan has a recording career that spans almost two decades and has sold over seven million albums to date. In addition to earning back-to-back platinum albums, Allan has achieved a string of No. 1 and top 10 hits at country radio throughout his incredible recording career and continues to record and sell out venues across the nation.

On March 6, 2012, Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) will release Gary Allan - ICON, an 11-song, single disc collection featuring some of Gary Allan's greatest hits and signature songs proving why he is truly an American country icon.

As a teenager Gary Allan honed his skills as a songwriter and performer in local bars with his dad and brother, refining his own musical style rooted in the true Bakersfield Sound in lines with the likes of Buck Owen, Dwight Yoakam and Merle Haggard. He was soon signed to Decca and his 1996 debut album, 'Used Heart For Sale,' hit top 20 and led to a string of chart successes and gold and platinum releases throughout his career, including his top 10 release 'Smoke Rings In The Dark' (1999), his top 5 albums 'Alright Guy' (2001), 'See If I Care' (2003) and 'Living Hard' (2007), and his 2005 hit 'Tough All Over' which entered at No. 1 on the Country Albums chart and climbed to the No. 3 position on the Billboard Top 200.

Gary Allan - ICON features some of his biggest country hits including his No. 1 singles "Man To Man" from 2002's Alright Guy; "Nothing On But The Radio" and "Tough Little Boys," both taken from his 2003 release 'See If I Care,' reaching the No. 2 position on the Country Albums chart; 2002's "The One," which entered at No. 3; his 2007 No. 2 hit single "Watching Airplanes;" and the ballad "Life Ain't Always Beautiful," which reached No. 4 on the Country Singles chart in 2006. Other songs featured includes his top 10 single "Best I Ever Had," from his 2005 hit album 'Tough All Over;' his 1999 top 20 single "Smoke Rings In The Dark;" and 2000's "Right Where I Need to Be," which reached No. 5 on the Country Singles chart.

ICON pays tribute to some of the most popular and influential artists of all-time and is a specially priced series of albums featuring the greatest hits, signature tunes and fan favorites from the most popular and influential artists in music history while offering unprecedented value to consumers.

Gary Allan, in his own unique way, carved a niche for himself in the world of country music worthy of ICON status and the eleven songs featured on this collection prove that point.

Track Listing:
1) Watching Airplanes
2) Man To Man
3) Life Ain't Always Beautiful
4) Best I Ever Had
5) Her Man
6) Smoke Rings In The Dark
7) Tough Little Boys
8) The One
9) It Would Be You
10) Right Where I Need To Be
11) Nothing On But The Radio