SOURCE: National Defense Industrial Association

National Defense Industrial Association

October 17, 2016 10:00 ET

Precision Strike Association to Present James 'Frank' Robbins With the 2016 Richard H. Johnson Technical Achievement Award

ARLINGTON, VA--(Marketwired - October 17, 2016) - The Precision Strike Association (PSA), an affiliate of the National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA), is pleased to announce it will present James 'Frank' Robbins with the 2016 Richard H. Johnson Technical Achievement Award on Wednesday, October 26, 2016 during the Precision Strike Technology Symposium (PSTS-16) at the Johns Hopkins Applied Research Laboratory in Laurel, MD.

"Mr. Robbins has made numerous contributions to precision strike systems, many of which have significantly improved the performance of the precision strike discipline," said Steve Roemerman, Richard H. Johnson Technical Achievement Selection Board Chair. "So many have benefitted from his expertise and mentorship and we are pleased to recognize him at the annual Precision Strike Technology Symposium later this month."

Robbins' contributions to Precision Strike began when he entered federal service with the Air Force research and development community in 1971. During his career in the Air Force, he served in leadership positions in the Advanced Medium Range Air-to-Air Missile (AMRAAM) Joint Systems Program Office (JSPO), the Air Base Operability System Program Office, and the Range and Airbase Systems Program Office.

Additionally, Robbins was selected to represent the Air Force in an intensive program of multi/international program management, economics, and technology insertion as a Sloan Fellow at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). He also served as Deputy Director and senior civilian within the Air-to-Air Joint System Program Office and Director of the Precision Strike System Program Office.

Robbins' 30-year career in the Air Force has impacted more than one generation of precision guided weapons, both air-to-ground and air-to-air. Since retiring from government service in 2002, he has continued to dedicate his efforts to provide programmatic and technical expertise to solve national security challenges.

The Richard H. Johnson Technical Achievement Award is named after the first recipient and presented annually to recognize an individual from public or private sector for outstanding personal technical achievements resulting in significant contribution to precision strike systems. Robbins will be honored during a luncheon at PSTS-16.

To register for PSTS-16, taking place from October 25-27, 2016, please click here.

About PSA
The Precision Strike Association is an affiliate of the National Defense Industrial Association. PSA is a world-class organization dedicated to advancing the art and science of precision engagement concepts and technologies. The Association focuses on DoD's Kill Chain by supporting the development of systems that find, fix, track, target, attack, and assess hard and soft targets. PSA is a coalition of military, government, academic and industrial subject matter experts and organized as a not-for-profit, tax-exempt organization.

About NDIA
The National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA) is the trusted leader in defense and national security associations. As a 501(c)3 corporate and individual membership association, NDIA engages thoughtful and innovative leaders to exchange ideas, information and capabilities that lead to the development of the best policies, practices, products and technology to ensure the safety and security of our nation. NDIA's membership embodies the full spectrum of corporate, government, academic and individual stakeholders who form a vigorous, responsive and collaborative community in support of defense and national security. For more information, visit

Contact Information