Governor General of Canada

Governor General of Canada

May 29, 2012 13:56 ET

Presentation of a Decoration for Bravery

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - May 29, 2012) - On behalf of His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, Mr. Stephen Hallihan, High Commissioner of Canada to Jamaica, presented the Medal of Bravery (M.B.) to Mr. Jubal Daley during a ceremony at the Official Residence of the High Commissioner, in Kingston, Jamaica, on May 29, 2012.

His Excellency the Most Honourable Sir Patrick Allen, Governor General of Jamaica, and Her Excellency the Most Honourable Lady Allen attended this ceremony.

Jubal Daley, M.B.
Negril, Jamaica
Wayne Reynolds, M.B.
Negril, Jamaica
Eric Roy, M.B. (posthumous)
Boucherville, Quebec
Twain Wright, M.B.
New York, New York, United States of America
Medal of Bravery

On December 13, 2008, Jubal Daley, Wayne Reynolds and Twain Wright rescued a woman from a possible drowning after her husband, Eric Roy, lost his life trying to reach her in the tumultuous waves of the Caribbean Sea, in Negril, Jamaica. Mr. Roy and his wife were near their hotel room when a huge wave pulled the woman down a cliff and into the sea. Mr. Roy jumped in to try and save her, but after a lengthy battle against the raging waves, he disappeared beneath the surface. Other guests at the hotel heard the woman's cries and threw a life ring to her, which helped her stay afloat. Messrs. Daley, Reynolds and Wright then arrived at the scene and entered the water, fighting against the surge to reach the unconscious victim as she was tossed against the rocks. With great difficulty, they managed to get her to the shore and up the cliff to safety, where they called for help. Sadly, Mr. Roy did not survive the ordeal.

The decorations awarded to Mr. Reynolds and to the late Mr. Roy will be presented at a later date.
The decoration awarded to Mr. Wright was presented at a ceremony on January 24, 2012 in New York, New York, United States of America, by Mr. John F. Prato, Consul General of Canada in New York.

The Medal of Bravery recognizes acts of bravery performed in hazardous circumstances. A fact sheet on the Decorations for Bravery is attached.

Follow GGDavidJohnston and RideauHall on Facebook and Twitter



The Decorations for Bravery were created in 1972. They recognize people who risk their lives and choose to defy their own instinct of survival to try to save a loved one or a perfect stranger whose life is in immediate danger.

The three levels of the Decorations for Bravery reflect the degree to which the recipients put themselves at risk:

The Cross of Valour (C.V.) recognizes acts of the most conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme peril.

The Star of Courage (S.C.) recognizes acts of conspicuous courage in circumstances of great peril.

The Medal of Bravery (M.B.) recognizes acts of bravery in hazardous circumstances.


Anyone is free to propose the name of a person who has risked injury or death in an attempt to rescue another person. The incident need not have taken place in Canada, and the rescuer need not be Canadian, but Canadians or Canadian interests must be involved. The Decorations may be awarded posthumously.

Nominations must be made within two years of the incident, or within two years after a public entity, including a court, a quasi-judicial tribunal or a coroner, has concluded its review of the circumstances surrounding the incident or act of bravery.

For more information on the Decorations for Bravery please visit

Contact Information