Human Resources and Skills Development Canada

Human Resources and Skills Development Canada

September 08, 2011 15:31 ET

Prime Minister's Volunteer Awards Program Extended Call for Nominations

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Sept. 8, 2011) - Canadians across the country have a new opportunity to recognize the exceptional contributions that volunteers make in their communities. The Honourable Diane Finley, Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development, today announced the Prime Minister's Volunteer Awards call for nominations deadline is extended until October 14, 2011.

"The Government of Canada is proud of the millions of volunteers, businesses and not-for-profit organizations that generously give their time, experience and expertise to make their communities stronger," said Minister Finley. "The Prime Minister's Volunteer Awards will celebrate the exceptional contributions of people and organizations across Canada and we hope they encourage others to participate and make a difference in their own communities."

The call for nominations now runs from July 12 to October 14, 2011. The awards will recognize individuals or groups of volunteers, businesses and not-for-profit organizations in five regions across Canada, and will offer a national award in two categories: one for lifelong achievement and one for new volunteers.

Please visit for more information on the awards program, eligibility criteria and the nomination process.

This news release is available in alternative formats on request.


Prime Minister's Volunteer Awards program

The Prime Minister's Volunteer Awards program consists of 17 awards in total, at the regional and national level. Fifteen regional awards will be presented, three for each of five regions across Canada (Atlantic, Quebec, Ontario, the Prairies, British Columbia and the northern region), which include one for each of the following:

  • Community Leader (for individuals or groups of volunteers);
  • Business Leader (for businesses); and
  • Social Innovator (for not-for-profit organizations).

Two national awards will be presented for:

  • Lifelong Achievement (generally for those who have volunteered for a period of at least 20 years); and
  • Emerging Leader (for new volunteers—generally, those who have volunteered for a period of no more than three years).

Nominees in all award categories must meet the following eligibility criteria:

  • Individual nominees must be Canadian citizens, permanent residents or protected persons within the meaning of the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act, and at least 18 years of age.
  • Eligible organizations must be Canadian (e.g. registered not-for-profits or businesses registered in Canada).
  • All nominees must have contributed to addressing social challenges.
  • Political and public advocacy work are excluded.

Award recipients will be recognized at a ceremony expected to be held in early 2012, and will be eligible to identify a not-for-profit organization to receive a grant for $5,000 (regional award recipients) or $10,000 (national award recipients).

Nominators may be any person or group with direct knowledge of the nominee's contribution.

For examples of eligible nominees for each of the award categories, please visit

Contact Information

  • Alyson Queen
    Press Secretary
    Office of Minister Finley

    Media Relations Office
    Human Resources and Skills Development Canada