Pro Bono Law Ontario

Pro Bono Law Ontario

June 04, 2012 10:18 ET

Pro Bono Law Ontario Announces New co-Chairs and Board Members

Justice Frank Marrocco and David Allgood Elected co-Chairs, Five Directors Begin New Terms

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - June 4, 2012) -

Editors Note: There are two photos associated with this press release.

The Board of Pro Bono Law Ontario (PBLO) voted to appoint Mr. Justice Frank Marrocco (Superior Court of Justice) and David Allgood (Executive Vice President and General Counsel, RBC) as co-Chairs of the organization at its most recent Annual General Meeting. Justice Marrocco and Mr. Allgood replace Jeffrey S. Leon, who stepped down as Chair at the end of his term. The co-Chairs will share most responsibilities with the exception of fundraising from which Justice Marrocco will be excused to avoid conflicts of interest.

PBLO is a charity founded in 2001 with a mandate to improve access to justice by promoting and facilitating opportunities for lawyers to provide volunteer legal services to low-income Ontarians with civil, non-family, legal problems. PBLO is funded in part by The Law Foundation of Ontario and The Law Society of Upper Canada. It is one of the largest, privately funded free legal service providers in Canada. Last year PBLO served 13,758 clients.

"We are all extremely pleased to welcome our new members and grateful that Justice Marrocco and Mr. Allgood have taken the reins of this organization," says Leon. "PBLO is the profession's response to unmet legal needs and their leadership and commitment to access to justice are qualities we need as we respond to growing demands from the profession for opportunities and from the public for more services."

The Board also elected Madam Justice Katherine Corrick (Superior Court of Justice), Sandra Forbes (Davies Ward Phillips and Vineberg LLP), Ken Fredeen (Deloitte & Touche LLP), Mr. Justice Glenn Hainey (Superior Court of Justice) and Derry Millar (WeirFoulds LLP) as new members. They join Gordon Baird (McCarthy Tétrault LLP), Michael Bryant, Laura Cooper (Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP), Malcolm Heins, Janet Leiper (City of Toronto, Integrity Commissioner), Jeff Leon (Bennett Jones LLP) Larry Lowenstein (Osler Hoskin & Harcourt LLP), David W. Scott (Borden Ladner Gervais LLP) and Heather Williams (Cavanagh Williams Conway and Baxter LLP).

To view the photos associated with this press release, please visit the following links:

Contact Information