SOURCE: Art Directors Guild

Art Directors Guild

December 19, 2012 06:00 ET

Production Designers Behind James Bond Franchise Set to Receive Cinematic Imagery Award From the Art Directors Guild's Excellence in Production Design Awards Presented by BMW, Feb. 2, 2013

LOS ANGELES, CA--(Marketwire - Dec 19, 2012) - The Production Designers behind the 23 James Bond films will be honored with the prestigious Cinematic Imagery Award from the Art Directors Guild Excellence In Production Design Awards Presented by BMW, it was announced today by John Shaffner, ADG Council Chair, Producers Greg Grande and Raf Lydon. Set for February 2, 2013, the ceremony will honor 50 years of the longest running franchise in film history for its visionary and innovative design.

The Cinematic Imagery Award will go to production designers Sir Ken Adam, Peter Lamont, Allan Cameron and Dennis Gassner.

"For 50 years the Bond films have entertained and inspired us with their audacious sense of style, imagination and sophistication. Their visual mastery of detail are to design what 'shaken not stirred' is to the creation of the perfect dry Martini!" Shaffner stated.

The ADG's Cinematic Imagery Award is given to those whose body of work in the film industry has richly enhanced the visual aspects of the movie-going experience. Previous recipients have been the principal team behind the Harry Potter films, Bill Taylor, Syd Dutton, Warren Beatty, Allen Daviau, Clint Eastwood, Blake Edwards, Terry Gilliam, Ray Harryhausen, Norman Jewison, John Lasseter, George Lucas, Frank Oz, Steven Spielberg, Robert S. Wise and Zhang Yimou.

Nominations for this year's ADG Excellence in Production Design Awards Presented by BMW will be announced on January 3, 2013. The ADG will present winners in nine competitive categories for theatrical films, television productions, commercials and music videos on February 2, 2013. Jonathan Frakes will be awarding Herman Zimmerman with the Lifetime Achievement Award Presented by BMW. Hall of Fame inductees are Preston Ames, Richard MacDonald and Edward S. Stephenson. Paula Poundstone will host the ADG Awards for the fourth consecutive year.

Presentation and Lifetime Achievement sponsor is BMW. The gold sponsor is Fox Studios Productions Services and silver sponsors are Astek Inc./On Air Design, HBO, The Golden Oak Ranch, Warner Bros. Studio Facilities and WME. Media sponsors are The Hollywood Reporter, Daily Variety, and Shoot.

Contact Information