Campaign to Raise the Minimum Wage

Campaign to Raise the Minimum Wage

August 12, 2013 14:44 ET

Province-Wide Day of Action Calling for $14 Minimum Wage

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - Aug. 12, 2013) - At a province-wide day of action on Wednesday August 14th, communities from around Ontario will call for a $14 minimum wage. Local groups will carry out creative actions on the 14th of every month until a minimum wage increase is announced.

Ontario's minimum wage has been frozen for 3 years, while the cost of living continues to rise. The Ontario government recently announced a minimum wage advisory panel to study a possible increase in the minimum wage. Advocates argue the minimum wage should bring workers and their families above the poverty line. That means Ontario's minimum wage should be $14 in 2013. A minimum wage increase is an investment in healthy communities and good jobs for workers in Ontario.

Creative actions are taking place in Toronto, Ottawa, Oshawa, Hamilton, Peterborough, Guelph, York Region, Windsor, Kitchener-Waterloo and Sudbury on August 14th and include Monopoly Street Theatre (Oshawa), a pop-up street party (Toronto) and a pots and pan rally (Ottawa).

Local actions on Wednesday August 14th and contacts:

Oshawa: Minimum Wage Monopoly Street Theatre: 2:00pm
Outside MPP Christine Elliott's office, 114 Dundas St. Whitby
Jesse Cullen, jesse.m.cullen@gmail.com
Ottawa: Bring Your Pots and Pans! Raise the Minimum Wage Action: 2:00pm
Outside MPP Madeline Meuiller's office, 237 Montreal Rd.,
Jill O'Reilly, onacornot@acorncanada.org
Toronto: Minimum Wage Pop-up Street Party! 6:30pm
29 St. Dennis Drive near Don Mills and Eglinton
Sonia Singh, sonia@workersactioncentre.org
Outreach drive: 4:45pm
Meet at Weston Library, 2 King Street, Weston
John Anderson, toronto@acorncanada.org, (778) 385-4385
Sudbury: Outreach blitz: 12pm
Meet at Memorial Park, Sudbury
Christy Knockleby, cknockleby@eastlink.ca
Guelph: Peter Miller, raise.the.wage.guelph@gmail.com
Hamilton: Ahmad Al-Amad, alamad.1990@gmail.com
Kitchener-Waterloo: Poverty Makes Us Sick: forspecialdiet@gmail.com
Peterborough: Paul Brown, pbrown@uwpeterborough.ca
Windsor: Paul Chislett, paul.chislett@gmail.com
York Region: Launch of York Region Raise the Minimum Wage Campaign: 2:00pm
Inside 'Job' - Join us for Coffee at Tim Hortons, 11005 Yonge St., Richmond Hill
Yvonne Kelly, yvonnek@yrfn.ca

The Campaign to Raise the Minimum Wage is coordinated by ACORN, Freedom 90, Mennonite New Life Centre, OCAP, Ontario Campaign 2000, Parkdale Community Legal Services, Put Food in the Budget, Social Planning Toronto, Toronto and York Region Labour Council and Workers' Action Centre.

Contact Information

  • Sonia Singh
    (416) 531-0778, ext. 221
    Cell (647) 235-6912