December 01, 2010 16:22 ET

Public Relations Society of America National Capital Chapter Announces 2011 Officers, Board Members and Assembly Delegates

FAIRFAX, VA--(Marketwire - December 1, 2010) - The Public Relations Society of America National Capital Chapter (PRSA-NCC) announced election results for its 2011 officers, board of directors and assembly delegates. This team of PRSA-NCC members oversees the chapter's more than 50 annual professional development and awards programs designed to advance professionalism and career growth.

"As the largest PRSA chapter in the nation with more than 1,400 members, PRSA-NCC is the leading organization connecting PR practitioners in the Washington, DC region," said Brigitte Johnson, APR, 2011 NCC president and American Forestry Foundation communications director. "I look forward to working with this group of tremendously talented PR professionals. Our chapter members and volunteers have such a wealth of experience and knowledge that I'm confident we'll continue to provide opportunities to enhance the important role of public relations in our community."

Johnson is joined by 12 newly elected members of the board of directors and four new assembly delegates, as well as three returning directors who are serving two-year terms, and ten returning assembly delegates. The chapter's leadership team comprises the president and the executive officers of the board:

President: Brigitte Johnson, APR, communications director, American Forestry Foundation

President-Elect: Suzanne Holroyd, PhD, APR, communications and program manager, DoD Sexual Assault Prevention and Response Office

Treasurer: Rebecca Andersen, APR, partner, marketing communications, Pacific Bridge Marketing

Secretary: Sylvia Aguilera, director, Federal Government Relations, Mcdonald's Corporation

Vice Presidents:
Patty Briotta, public relations manager, National Association of Federal Credit Unions
Mitch Marovitz, APR, lead associate, Booz Allen Hamilton, Inc.
Christie Phillips, APR, deputy executive director; NAFSA: Association of International Educators

Immediate Past President: Jeff Ghannam, independent practitioner

Two-Year Directors (term expires in parentheses):
Aaron Ellis, APR, communications director, American Association of Port Authorities (term expires 2012)
Amy Goodwin, director, Institutional Internal Commmunications, Johns Hopkins Medicine (term expires 2012)
Kristina Messner, vice president, Public Relations Division, Focused Image (term expires 2012)
Jaya Koilpillai Bohlmann, vice president, public relations, Sodexo, Inc. (term expires 2011)
Sabrina Kidwai, media relations manager, Association for Career and Technical Education (term expires 2011)
Ann Andrews Morris, principal, AndMore Communications, LLC (term expires 2011)

One-Year Directors (term expires end of 2011):
Jackie Fishman, APR, freelance, News Generation
Debbie Friez, vice president, BurrellesLuce
Bren Landon, director of public relations, Daughters of the American Revolution

Assembly Delegates (term expires in parentheses):
B J Altschul, APR, director, External Relations, Montgomery County Humane Society (term expires 2013)
Aaron Ellis, APR, communications director, American Association of Port Authorities (term expires 2013)
Tia Mason Howard, APR, director of communications, Ascend One (term expires 2013)
Michelle Leff Mermelstein, APR, public relations manager, Sprint Nextel (term expires 2013)

Suzanne Holroyd, Ph.D., APR communications manager, Office of Sexual Assault Prevention and Response, U.S. Department of Defense (term expires 2012)
Amie Hornbaker, APR, director of public relations, American Podiatric Medical Association (term expires 2012)
Brigitte Johnson, APR, director of communications and executive editor, American Forest Foundation (term expires 2011)
Jill Kurtz, APR, chief operating officer, Balance Interactive (term expires 2012)
Mitchell E. Marovitz, APR, associate/strategic communications consultant, Booz Allen Hamilton, Inc. (term expires 2012)
Bill Outlaw, director of communications, Patient Care Services, Veterans Health Administration (term expires 2012)
Phil Simon, APR, managing director, communications and marketing, American Institute of Architects (term expires 2011)
Michael C. Sheward, APR, president, Management Communications Strategies (term expires 2011)
Fred Whiting, APR, lecturer, American University School of Communication (term expires 2012)
Sabrina Kidwai, media relations manager, Association for Career and Technical Education (term expires 2011)

About the National Capital Chapter
The National Capital Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America represents the world's leadership in the practice of public relations and is the essential network for practitioners in the Washington region. With more than 1,400 members, the chapter provides high-quality and timely professional development programs, accreditation instruction, and networking opportunities. The Chapter promotes public relations education through the support of five regional PRSSA chapters and a Career Academy for inner city high school students. For more information about membership, leadership, or events, please visit