Quebec Mineral Exploration Association

Quebec Mineral Exploration Association

August 23, 2011 10:00 ET

The Quebec Mineral Exploration Association (AEMQ) Proposes Creation of a Committee to Develop Mineral Resources


QUEBEC CITY, QUEBEC--(Marketwire - Aug. 23, 2011) - This morning, the Quebec Mineral Exploration Association (AEMQ) proposed that the government of Quebec create a Committee to Develop Mineral Resources (Commission de Valorisation de la Ressource Minérale du Québec, CVRMQ).

Today, the AEMQ presented a recommendation to the National Assembly of Quebec that it deems fair and innovative for reforming Quebec's mining laws.

Mr. Ghislain Poirier, chairman of the Association's Board of Directors, on submission of his report on bill no. 14 (a law to develop mineral resources while meeting sustainable development regulations), proposed to the Agriculture, Fisheries, Energy and Natural Resources Committee (Commission de l'Agriculture, des Pêcheries, de l'Énergie et des Ressources naturelles) to look into implementing true reform of the law on mines and to create a task force to develop ways to form such a Committee.

The AEMQ reminded the government that bill No. 14 is exceptional in that it could apply retroactive clauses, harming hundreds of small and medium-sized Quebec businesses in the field of mineral exploration in Quebec. The Association believes that it would be in keeping with the spirit of sustainable development in Quebec to transfer responsibility for applying and enforcing the mining laws to an independent third party.

"Creating a Committee with operation and powers inspired by Quebec's history of protecting its agricultural territories would allow the government to establish permanent mechanisms for sustainable development of mineral resources, ensure fair arbitration of conflicts and give all parties a place where they can constantly exchange ideas and hold discussions," said Mr. Poirier to the members of the Parliamentary Committee.

The Committee to Develop Mineral Resources (Commission de Valorisation de la Ressource Minérale du Québec, CVRMQ) would have all the necessary powers to enforce Quebec's mining laws and to manage mining licenses. The CVRMQ would be responsible for granting all authorizations and would play an active role in the regional county municipalities (MRC). It would be called to upon to enact clear, uniform and fair regulations to benefit all parties involved and especially to enforce acquired rights.

Mr. Poirier added, "Implementing such a Committee would be beneficial for all citizens of Quebec because it would allow all stakeholders in the sector to work in a transparent, familiar and predictable framework at no additional cost to the public, since the work would be paid for from fees collected from mining licenses."

About the Québec Mineral Exploration Association (AEMQ)

The Québec Mineral Exploration Association (AEMQ) is a non-profit professional and industry association incorporated under Part III of the Companies Act. The AEMQ represents the key stakeholders involved in the field of mineral exploration in Québec. The AEMQ was founded in 1975 to reflect the will of mineral explorationists in Québec (prospectors, geologists, geophysicists, contractors, developers, exploration managers) to stimulate exploration and foster the development of mining entrepreneurship in Québec. The AEMQ brings together more than 1,500 individual members (prospectors, geologists, geophysicists, brokers, tax experts, lawyers, etc.) and over 200 corporate members (junior and major mining exploration companies, engineering firms specializing in geology and geophysics, drilling companies, services companies, equipment manufacturers, etc.). It is headed by a board of twenty directors, each representing a different segment of the mineral exploration industry.

The Association's President is Ghislain Poirier (Stornoway Diamond Corporation), who is supported by François Bouchard (Osisko Mining Corporation), Tony Brisson (Cogitore Resources Inc.), Martin Demers (Aurizon Mines Ltd.), Mélissa Desrochers (TMR Communications), Pierre-Philippe Dupont (Royal Nickel Corporation), Marco Gagnon (Adventure Gold), Robert Gagnon (ExploLab), Jean Girard (Alexis Minerals Corporation), Guy Gosselin (Agnico-Eagle Mines Ltd.), Gérard Houle (Les Pierres du Nord), Marcel H. Jolicoeur (GENIVAR), Robert Kitchen (Cree Nation of Nemaska), Marc L'Heureux (Vior), Jean-Marc Lulin (Azimut Exploration Inc.), Frank Mariage (Miller Thomson Pouliot SENCRL/LLP), Jean-François Ouellette (Services Techniques Géonordic), Gino Roger (Midland Exploration), Mathieu Savard (Virginia Mines) and André Vachon (Roche).

The AEMQ's head office is located at 132 Lac Avenue, Suite 203, Rouyn-Noranda, Québec, J9X 4N5

For more information, visit the AEMQ website at

Contact Information