SOURCE: The Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation

The Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation

September 05, 2013 09:00 ET

Reagan National Defense Forum: Building Peace Through Strength Through 2025 to Be Held at the Reagan Library, November 16, 2013

Speakers Include Secretary Chuck Hagel, General Martin Dempsey, Secretary John McHugh, Admiral Jonathan Greenert, Chairman Carl Levin and Congressman Howard "Buck" McKeon; Inaugural "Ronald Reagan Peace Through Strength Award" to Be Presented

SIMI VALLEY, CA--(Marketwired - Sep 5, 2013) - The Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation and Library will bring together leaders and key stakeholders in the defense community -- including members of Congress, civilian officials and military leaders from the Defense Department and industry -- to address the health of our national defense and to stimulate a discussion that promotes policies that strengthen the United States military into the future. Panels and keynote addresses will make up the day-long conference.

"My husband worked every day of our eight years in Washington, D.C. to ensure that our country was peacefully protected and that our military was the finest in the world," said former first lady Nancy Reagan. "He would be so pleased to know that his 'Peace Through Strength' policies are being discussed again at the Reagan Library with a focus on today's new technology and tomorrow's needs."

A keynote address will be made by General Martin Dempsey, Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff, with the Forum's closing remarks being made by The Honorable Chuck Hagel, United States Secretary of Defense. Multiple panels will also be held throughout the day, including "Counterterrorism in 2025: What Kind of Fighting Force Will be Required?", "The Industrial Base After a Decade of War and in an Era of Declining Budgets: Where do we Need to be in 2025?", "Congress, Industry and the Pentagon: Assessing the Relationship" and "What Should the Asia Rebalance Look Like in 2025?"

"The Ronald Reagan Foundation has held Presidential Debates, day-long policy conferences and national speaker series featuring key leaders for years," said Frederick J. Ryan, Jr., Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation. "We are pleased to extend our reach by hosting the Reagan National Defense Forum, an important conference in which military and defense departments can only be served by re-examining President Reagan's commitment to and vision for a strong military."

An Honorary Steering Committee, chaired by Congressman Buck McKeon, includes Duncan Hunter, James Inhofe, Ann McLaughlin Korologos, John McCain, Sam Nunn, Leon Panetta, George Shultz, Ike Skelton, Adam Smith, John Warner and Pete Wilson.

"More than ever before we are learning the true value of peace through strength," said Congressman Buck McKeon, Chairman of the House Armed Services Committee. "There is no more appropriate venue to explore how well America's defense policy is holding to that maxim than the Reagan Library. This country's most respected national security thinkers are scheduled to participate in what has already become a must attend event. My hope is that the Reagan Forum will be the can't miss defense conference for years to come."

Panelists and attendees include, in alphabetical order:

Department of Defense/Military
The Honorable Rudy DeLeon, Former Deputy Secretary of Defense
General Martin Dempsey, Chairman, Joint Chiefs of Staff
The Honorable Eric Edelman, Former Ambassador to Finland & Turkey, Former
Undersecretary of Defense for Policy
The Honorable Robert Gates, Former Secretary of Defense
Admiral Jonathan Greenert, Chief of Naval Operations, U.S. Navy
The Honorable Chuck Hagel, United States Secretary of Defense
The Honorable Robert Hale, Undersecretary of Defense, Comptroller
General Michael Hostage, Commander, Air Combat Command
General Jack Keane, Former Vice Chief of Staff, United States Army
The Honorable John Lehman, Former Secretary of the Navy
Secretary John McHugh, Secretary of the Army, U.S. Army
Admiral William McRaven, Commander, U.S. Special Operations Command
The Honorable Dov Zakheim, Former Undersecretary of Defense

Elected Officials:
Senator Kelly Ayotte, New Hampshire
Congressman Randy Forbes, Virginia
Congressman Duncan Hunter, Former Congressman, California
Senator Carl Levin, Michigan
Congressman Howard P. "Buck" McKeon, California
Congressman Adam Smith, Washington
Senator Jim Talent, Former Senator, Missouri
Congressman Mac Thornberry, Texas
Congressman Mike Turner, Ohio
Congressman Brad Wenstrup, Ohio
Governor Pete Wilson, Former Governor of California, Former U.S. Senator

Mr. Wes Bush, Chairman, CEO & President, Northrop Grumman
Mr. J.D. Crouch, CEO, QinetiQ North America
Mr. Thomas Donnelly, Director, Marilyn Ware Center for Security Studies, American Enterprise Institute
The Honorable Michele Flournoy, Former Undersecretary of Defense for Policy, Co-Chair of
the Board of Directors, Center for a New American Security
The Honorable Sean O'Keefe, CEO, EADS North America
Mr. Chuck Robbins, SVP Worldwide Operations, CISCO
General Norton Schwartz, President & CEO, Business Executives for National Security
Mr. Bill Swanson, CEO, Raytheon

Registration fee for the conference is $499 per person and include free admission into the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Museum and Air Force One Pavilion. Registration details and more information on the conference can be found at

Following the day's panels, the evening will conclude with the presentation of a Ronald Reagan Peace Through Strength Award to former Secretary of Defense, Dr. Robert Gates and to Senate Armed Services Committee Chairman, Senator Carl Levin. The Ronald Reagan Peace Through Strength Award recognizes the exemplary dedication and service of individuals in the defense of the United States and its people. The evening award presentation is not a part of the Reagan National Defense Forum conference. As such, ticket holders to the daytime Forum will not also be a part of the award presentations.

The Ronald Reagan Presidential Foundation is a non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to the preservation and promotion of the legacy of Ronald Reagan and his timeless principles of individual liberty, economic opportunity, global democracy, and national pride. It sustains the Ronald Reagan Presidential Library and Museum, the Reagan Center for Public Affairs, the Walter and Leonore Annenberg Presidential Learning Center and The Air Force One Pavilion. Located in Simi Valley, California the Library houses 63 million pages of Gubernatorial, Presidential and personal papers and over 60,000 gifts and artifacts chronicling the lives of Ronald and Nancy Reagan. It now also serves as the final resting place of America's 40th President.

Contact Information