SOURCE: Red Bull

Red Bull

May 03, 2011 09:00 ET

Red Bull Game Breakers Football Goes National With More Players and More Game

Perennial Powerhouses Including Dallas Plano, Houston Pearland, Tulsa Jenks, Austin Lake Travis, Milwaukee Marquette and Pittsburgh North Allegheny to Play in Innovative 7-on-7 Tournament

DALLAS, TX--(Marketwire - May 3, 2011) - Red Bull Game Breakers will return this summer for another year of intensely competitive 7-on-7 high school football, featuring some of the very best young talent in the country and Super Bowl Champion Reggie Bush providing inspiration from the sidelines. More than 5,000 players from 256 of the most prestigious high school football programs in the nation will participate, including eight of the top 40 ranked teams in the country according to the final 2010 ESPN Rise rankings. The tournament begins in late May with qualifier rounds held in 16 cities, including Dallas, Houston, Austin, Denver, New Orleans, Miami, Stillwater, Pittsburgh and Minneapolis. The winners from each qualifier will advance to the Red Bull Game Breakers Finals on July 15-16 at Gerald J. Ford Stadium at Southern Methodist University in the heart of Dallas.

"Playing football in high school taught me about discipline, respect and teamwork, which I applied on and off and the field. It helped me in the classroom and in life," said Reggie Bush. "I'm looking forward to Red Bull Games Breakers again this year. It's my chance to encourage these young men to stay the course with football and to use this tournament's innovative format to really stand out for big plays."

Red Bull Game Breakers isn't your average 7-on-7 tournament. The format is designed to reward points for both offensive and defensive plays. Using half the length of a traditional football field, teams can score points for each game-breaking moment, including first downs, touchdowns, PATs, interceptions, defensive stops, and Red Bull Red Zone stops. For the low down on all the tournament rules, visit

Last year, St. Augustine High School, "St. Aug.," powered past 15 teams at their regional qualifier in New Orleans to advance to the Finals in Dallas. With strength and determination in the face of stiff competition from Texas and Oklahoma teams, the Purple Knights prevailed and were crowned the first ever Red Bull Game Breakers Champions.

This year, St. Aug. will return to defend their title. But the competition, this time from all over the U.S., is even tougher. The rules have been tweaked to encourage more action. Teams that would never have the chance to play will face off and new rivalries are sure to emerge -- Jenks vs. Lake Travis or Highland Park vs. Marquette, perhaps? We will once again, in bigger and better fashion, separate the players from the game breakers.

Red Bull Game Breakers Qualifiers
May 31 - New Orleans Qualifier - Isidore Newman High School
June 4 - Oklahoma Qualifier - Oklahoma State University, T. Boone Pickens Stadium
June 4 - Cleveland Qualifier - Garfield High School
June 7 - Pittsburgh Qualifier - Woodland Hills High School
June 14 - Fort Worth Qualifier - OD Wyatt High School
June 17 - Dallas Qualifier - Cedar Hill High School
June 11 - Miami Qualifier
June 18 - Birmingham Qualifier - University of Alabama-Birmingham
June 21 - Houston Qualifier - Alief Taylor High School
June 25 - Denver Qualifier - Chaparral High School
June 26 - Tampa Qualifier
June 28 - Austin Qualifier - Round Rock High School
June 28 - Minneapolis Qualifier
June 30 - San Antonio Qualifier - South San High School
July 1 - Milwaukee Qualifier - Hart Park, Wauwatosa

Red Bull Game Breakers Finals
July 15-16: Dallas, Gerald J. Ford Stadium - Southern Methodist University

Follow us on Twitter at @RedBull and join the conversation with #gamebreakers.

Like us on facebook at

For frequent tournament updates, news stories, photos, video clips, the official rules and the full roster of participating teams and players, visit

For media inquiries, contact Andrea Dorsett at or (214) 957-5990 or Casey Thompson at or (214) 674-9127.

Contact Information