Canada's Sports Hall of Fame

Canada's Sports Hall of Fame

October 25, 2006 09:00 ET

Reminder: Canada's Sports Hall of Fame Induction Dinner - Media Accreditation

Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame is preparing for media opportunities for its Induction Dinner on Nov. 1, 2006

Attention: Sports Editor TORONTO/ ONTARIO, MEDIA ACCREDITATION PROCEDURES--(CCNMatthews - Oct. 25, 2006) - Canada's Sports Hall of Fame is preparing for media opportunities for its 2006 Induction Dinner. Man In Motion World Tour legend Rick Hansen, national rowing coach Al Morrow, golfer Moe Norman, squash racquet star Jonathon Power, national synchronized swimming coach Julie Sauvé, founders of Spruce Meadows Equestrian Centre Margaret and Ron Southern and world figure skating champion Elvis Stojko will be formally recognized at the Induction Gala on Wednesday, November 1, 2006 at the Fairmont Royal York in Toronto.

The Dr. Tom Pashby Sports Safety Award will also be presented at the Dinner as well the announcement of the establishment of the Steve A. Stavro Scholarship Award.

Accreditation Process
Credentials will be required for this event, so media are asked to request credentials in advance by email to:
Please include the name of journalist, and the media organization represented, along with contact information.

If you will have special requirements, please contact: Barb MacDonald at 613-521-7314

Please note: Broadcast footage for non-rights holders of the induction dinner will be limited to a 30-second clip, with attribution to TSN.

Sequence of Events
3:30 p.m. Group photo of 2006 inductees

4:00 p.m. Press Conference, Tudor Room 7, Fairmont Royal York Hotel
All 8 inductees will participate in the formal press conference followed by individual opportunities for interviews

4:45 - 6:30 p.m. Receptions - open to media

6:00 p.m. Honoured Members and Inductees gather in Toronto Room for group photo.

6:45 - 10:00 p.m. Gala Dinner

6:45 p.m. Entry of Honoured Members in attendance

7:10 p.m. Dinner - first course

7:25 p.m. Presentation of Dr. Tom Pashby Sports Safety Award

7:30 p.m. Announcement of the Steve A. Stavro Scholarship Award

7:35 p.m. Introduction of the Everyday Sports Hero program

7:40 p.m. Dinner - main course

8:20 p.m. Co-Chairs remarks

8:25 p.m. Induction Ceremonies:
* Rick Hansen
* Al Morrow
* Moe Norman
* Jonathon Power
* Julie Sauvé
* Margaret and Ron Southern
* Elvis Stojko

10:00 p.m. Post Dinner Reception

Induction Procedures:
Master of Ceremonies Brian Williams will introduce each inductee followed by a video vignette. The inductee will then be called to the platform and presented with the Canada's Sports Hall of Fame jacket and watch. The inductee will follow with his/her acceptance speech.

Media Facilities:
3:00 p.m. Media Accreditation desk opens - outside Tudor Room 7

5:30 - 10:00 p.m. Media Room open, Toronto Room
Staffed with volunteers throughout the dinner

- 30 -

/For further information: Barb MacDonald
613-521-7314 IN: SPORTS

Contact Information

  • Sheryn Posen, Chief Operating Officer, Canada's Sports Hall of Fame
    Primary Phone: 416-720-1084
    Secondary Phone: 416-260-6789