Redistribution Federal Electoral Districts

Redistribution Federal Electoral Districts

August 16, 2012 11:39 ET

Reminder of Public Hearings on the Proposed Federal Electoral Map for Quebec

Deadline for Notice of Representation is August 27

MONTRÉAL, QUÉBEC--(Marketwire - Aug. 16, 2012) - The Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for Quebec is set to hold public hearings on the new federal electoral map it recently proposed.

The commission makes final decisions about where the electoral boundaries will be located after consultation, giving the public and members of Parliament an opportunity to express their views and participate in the process.

Everyone is invited to attend. Those wishing to make a representation at a hearing are requested to send the commission written notice no later than August 27, 2012.

Meet the commission to discuss its proposal at these places and times:

  • SAGUENAY, Courthouse, Wednesday, September 5, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • LÉVIS, Lévis Convention and Exhibition Centre, Thursday, September 6, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • QUÉBEC, Courthouse, Friday, September 7, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • GASPÉ, Courthouse, Tuesday, September 11, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • MATANE, Riôtel Matane, Wednesday, September 12, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • RIVIÈRE-DU-LOUP, Courthouse, Friday, September 14, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • SHAWINIGAN, Courthouse, Tuesday, September 18, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • THETFORD MINES, Courthouse, Wednesday, September 19, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • LAVAL, Courthouse, Wednesday, October 17, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • SAINT-JÉRÔME, Courthouse, Thursday, October 18, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • MONTRÉAL, Courthouse, Friday, October 19, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • VALLEYFIELD, Courthouse, Tuesday, October 23, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • LONGUEUIL, Courthouse, Wednesday, October 24, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • SAINT-JEAN, Courthouse, Thursday, October 25, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • SHERBROOKE, Courthouse, Friday, October 26, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • GATINEAU, Courthouse, Wednesday, October 31, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • VAL-D'OR, Courthouse, Friday, November 2, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

  • SEPT-ÎLES, Courthouse, Tuesday, November 6, 2012, at 9:30 a.m.

For complete address information for public hearings, visit www.federal-redistribution.ca under Quebec - Public Hearings.

To make a representation, send notice to the commission by e-mail at quebec@rfed-rcf.ca or by mail (Place Bonaventure, 800 de la Gauchetière Street West, 7th Floor, Suite 7350, Montréal, Quebec, H5A 1L6). Hearings may be cancelled if no notice of representation is received.

To consult the proposal online, visit www.federal-redistribution.ca. The proposal was also published as a supplement to the Canada Gazette on August 4, 2012. To obtain a copy, contact the commission at 1-855-726-4111 (toll free).

Contact Information

  • Federal Electoral Boundaries Commission for Quebec
    1-855-726-4111 (toll free)
    1-855-726-4112 (toll free) (FAX)
    quebec@rfed-rcf.ca