Canadian Heritage

Canadian Heritage

May 20, 2010 11:30 ET

Renewed Cooperation Between the Government of Canada and Manitoba's Francophone Community

WINNIPEG, MANITOBA--(Marketwire - May 20, 2010) - On behalf of the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, Shelly Glover, Parliamentary Secretary for Official Languages and Member of Parliament (Saint Boniface), today announced the ratification of a cooperation agreement between the Department of Canadian Heritage and Manitoba's Francophone community. The announcement was at a signing ceremony in Saint Boniface, Winnipeg's Francophone district.

"The Government of Canada is a leader in promoting our two official languages and supporting the development of official-language minority communities," said Minister Moore. "Our efforts rely on the invaluable cooperation of the communities themselves, who know their own needs, priorities, and aspirations best."

"Our Government and Manitoba's Francophone community have a long history of cooperating for the benefit of French-speaking Canadians living in the province," said Mrs. Glover. "This agreement continues the work already started and seeks to strengthen the partnership, while respecting the responsibilities of each party."

"The Société franco-manitobaine is very proud to renew this cooperation agreement with the Department of Canadian Heritage on behalf of the entire Francophone community in Manitoba," said Ibrahima Diallo, President of the organization. "Keeping this cooperation going is essential to the growth and development of the community."

The agreement between the Department of Canadian Heritage and Manitoba's Francophone community encourages dialogue between the community and the Department, allows for a more strategic approach to cooperation, and outlines the follow-up mechanisms needed to achieve the planned objectives.

The Government of Canada is providing Manitoba's Francophone community with funding of $2,623,000 for each fiscal year from April 1, 2009 to March 31, 2013 through the Cooperation with the Community Sector, part of the Community Life component of the Development of Official-Language Communities Program. This program of the Department of Canadian Heritage aims to foster the development of Canada's minority Anglophone and Francophone communities and enable them to participate fully in all aspects of Canadian life.

Like the Roadmap for Canada's Linguistic Duality 2008–2013: Acting for the Future, this support reaffirms the Government of Canada's commitment to our two official languages and to ensuring the vitality of official-language minority communities. The Roadmap is an unprecedented government-wide investment of $1.1 billon over five years.

(This news release is available on the Internet at under Media Room.)

Contact Information

  • Office of the Minister of Canadian Heritage
    and Official Languages
    Matthew Deacon - Press Secretary
    Canadian Heritage
    Prairies and Northern Region
    Francine D. Lefebvre, Director
    204-983-4367 or Cell.: 204-899-8611
    Canadian Heritage
    Media Relations