Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS)

Canadian Public Relations Society (CPRS)

December 01, 2006 08:00 ET

REPEAT-CPRS Toronto: Richard Bradshaw Given Prestigious Public Relations Award

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(CCNMatthews - Dec. 1, 2006) - Richard Bradshaw, an outstanding communicator and innovator in the world of opera, is the recipient of this year's CEO of the Year Award in Public Relations as presented by the Canadian Public Relations Society (Toronto).

As a tireless advocate of the arts in Canada, Bradshaw's vision for the Canadian Opera Company has earned the company an international reputation for artistic excellence and creative innovation.

He will be presented with the prestigious award at a gala luncheon on January 25, 2007 in Toronto at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel.

Born in England, Bradshaw received an honours degree in English at London University in 1965. He studied conducting privately with Sir Adrian Boult, subsequently receiving a Gulbenkian Conducting Fellowship to work with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra under the supervision of Sir Charles Groves.

In a career taking him throughout the world, Bradshaw has conducted a wide-ranging repertoire of both operatic and orchestral music. He has been most closely associated with the building of Canada's new opera house, the Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts in Toronto. He recently conducted the first Canadian production of Wagner's Ring Cycle to enormous international acclaim for audiences and critics alike.

He has conducted more than 60 operas in his 18 years with the COC and has established a reputation for adventurous programming and innovative productions. His collaborations with directors and designers from the world of film and theatre, including Robert LePage, Atom Egoyan and Francois Girard, have achieved international acclaim and attracted new and youthful audiences.

The CPRS (Toronto) CEO award of excellence in public relations was established in 1991 to demonstrate that a successful CEO must be an excellent communicator as well as a strong financial and administrative manager.

Past recipients of the CEO award of excellence include:

- Michael Budman and Don Green, co-founders of Roots Canada

- Wayne Sales, President and CEO of Canadian Tire

- Piers Handling, CEO of the Toronto International Film Festival

- Julian Fantino, Chief of the Toronto Police Force

- Charles Baillie, Chair, TD Bank Financial Group

- Dominic D'Alessandro, President and CEO, Manulife Financial

- Bobbie Gaunt, President and CEO, Ford Motor Company of Canada

- Diane McGarry, President and CEO, Xerox Canada Inc.

- Allan Stark, President and CEO, American Express Company Canada

- George Cohon, President and CEO, McDonald's Restaurants of Canada

- John Cassaday, President and CEO, CTV

- David Bloom, President and CEO, Shoppers Drug Mart

- Peter H. Ellis, President and CEO, Sunnybrook Medical Centre

CPRS is a national association representing the public relations profession, through the establishment and maintenance of high professional, educational and ethical standards. CPRS (Toronto) is one of the largest member societies with more than 600 members.

High-resolution head and shoulder images of Richard Bradshaw can be downloaded at

Contact Information

  • CEO Award of Excellence in Public Relations
    Gordon McIvor, APR
    (416) 952-6111 (office) or (416) 562-0560 (cell)
    Canadian Opera Company
    Nisha Lewis
    Senior Publicist
    (416) 306-2395 (office)