SOURCE: Hanley Wood

November 19, 2008 12:39 ET

residential architect Announces 2008 Leadership Award Winners

WASHINGTON, DC--(Marketwire - November 19, 2008) - residential architect, the nation's only media brand to focus exclusively on the residential architect profession, has announced the winners of its 2008 Leadership Awards program. Published by Hanley Wood, LLC, residential architect magazine is the trusted source for more than 20,000 housing architects.

The Leadership Awards honor architects and firms specializing in outstanding residential architecture, where their accomplishments have made significant contributions to the profession and industry. Each year, three firms are chosen by the editors of residential architect for accolades in the categories of Rising Star, Top Firm and Hall of Fame.

The 2008 Leadership Award Winners are:

Hall of Fame: F. Cecil Baker, AIA, Cecil Baker + Partners, Philadelphia, PA

For more than 40 years, Cecil Baker has designed imaginative and sensitive infill architecture in the historic city of Philadelphia. A graduate of Louis Kahn's studio at the University of Pennsylvania, Baker and his quietly graceful work have made a significant contribution to his city's revitalization.

Top Firm: Michelle Kaufmann, AIA, LEED AP, Michelle Kaufmann Designs, Oakland, CA

Fortified by her experience designing a highly successful idea house for Sunset magazine and her time as an associate with innovative master Frank Gehry, FAIA, Kaufmann launched her own modern modular housing company. In just six years, her company has finished 30 lovely, light-filled houses and is poised for accelerated expansion in the near future. While many architects are still experimenting with prefab prototypes, Kaufmann is out on the front lines perfecting them for the masses.

Rising Star: Luis Ibarra and Teresa Rosano, RA, LEED AP, Ibarra Rosano Design Architects, Tucson, AZ

Accomplished in designing sophisticated, modern custom residences in Tucson, Ariz., this almost 10-year-old firm has branched out into speculative development. In doing so, its principals are taking on restrictive zoning regulations and championing better, denser, and more affordable houses for their native city.

Winners will be profiled in the November/December 2008 issue of the magazine and honored at a luncheon during the magazine's annual Reinvention Symposium, held December 8 through 10, 2008, in Austin, TX. For more information about the conference, see; for more information about residential architect magazine, see

Previous winners of the residential architect Leadership Awards include:

Hall of Fame winners:
Peter Q. Bohlin, FAIA, Bohlin Cywinski Jackson
Christopher Alexander
Hugh Newell Jacobsen, FAIA, Hugh Newell Jacobsen, F.A.I.A., Architect
Sarah Susanka, FAIA, Susanka Studios
Ray Kappe, FAIA, Kappe Architects/Planners
Sim Van der Ryn, Van der Ryn Architects
Frank D. Welch, FAIA, Frank Welch and Associates
Stuart Cohen, FAIA, and Julie Hacker, AIA, Stuart Cohen & Julie Hacker

Top Firm winners:
Centerbrook Architects and Planners
Michael Pyatok, FAIA, Pyatok Architects
Steven Ehrlich, FAIA, Steven Ehrlich Architects
Hendrik Koning, FAIA, FRAIA, and Julie Eizenberg, AIA, Koning Eizenberg
Frank Harmon, FAIA, Frank Harmon Architect
Dan Rockhill, Rockhill and Associates
Stephen Muse, FAIA, Muse Architects

Rising Star winners:
SALA Architects
Robert M. Gurney, FAIA
Jim Estes, AIA, and Peter Twombley, AIA, Estes/Twombly Architects
Randy Brown, FAIA, LEED AP, Randy Brown Architects
Jonathan Segal, FAIA
David Hacin, AIA, Hacin + Associates
Taal Safdie and Ricardo Rabines, Safdie Rabines Architects
Joeb Moore, AIA, Joeb + Partners, Architects

About Hanley Wood

Hanley Wood, LLC, is the premier media and information company serving housing and construction. Through four operating divisions, the company produces award-winning magazines and Web sites, marquee trade shows and events, rich data and custom marketing solutions. The company also is North America's leading publisher of home plans. Hanley Wood Business Media (Washington, D.C.) publishes 30 award-winning residential and commercial construction titles, including BUILDER, REMODELING, ARCHITECT, CUSTOM HOME, CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION and residential architect. Hanley Wood Business Media also offers the construction industry's foremost collection of Web sites, including BUILDER ONLINE, REMODELING ONLINE, and ebuild, the comprehensive online guide to building products, as well as the largest collection of house plans online through and Dream Home Source.

Founded in 1976, Hanley Wood is a $250 million company owned by affiliates of JPMorgan Partners, LLC. CCMP Capital Advisors manages the Hanley Wood investment for JPMorgan Partners.