Elections Canada

Elections Canada

August 15, 2007 10:41 ET

Revision of Lists of Electors for Federal By-Elections Begins

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwire - Aug. 15, 2007) - The Chief Electoral Officer of Canada, Marc Mayrand, announced today that revision of the lists of electors has begun for federal by-elections in the electoral districts of Outremont (Quebec), Saint-Hyacinthe-Bagot (Quebec) and Roberval-Lac-Saint-Jean (Quebec) that will be held on Monday, September 17, 2007. Electors in Outremont, Saint-Hyacinthe-Bagot and Roberval-Lac-Saint-Jean can now make any necessary changes to their name or address on the lists, add their name if they are not already registered, or have removed the name of a person who no longer resides at their address. The last day to make a change is Tuesday, September 11, 2007.

To vote in these by-elections, an elector must be a Canadian citizen, 18 years of age or older on election day and a resident in the electoral district of Outremont, Saint-Hyacinthe-Bagot or Roberval-Lac-Saint-Jean from August 15 to September 17, 2007.

Elections Canada produces the preliminary list of electors for each polling division based on data from the National Register of Electors. These data are updated regularly with information from various sources, such as the Canada Revenue Agency - with the taxpayer's permission - and from certain provincial and territorial government organizations.

An elector who has recently moved, turned 18 or acquired Canadian citizenship might not be listed at the correct address, or might not be listed at all. Any elector in such a situation may register by contacting the local Elections Canada office.

Elections Canada officials may carry out a revision exercise in targeted areas - such as new subdivisions or areas where people tend to move more frequently - to ensure that the lists of electors are complete and accurate.

A personalized voter information card will be mailed to all registered electors in the coming week. This card cannot be used as proof of identity or residential address; however, it does indicate that the elector is a registered elector and is on the list of electors.

The local Elections Canada offices are located at the following addresses:

Electoral District and Province Returning Officer and Contact Information
Outremont Mr. Pierre-Yves Serinet
(Quebec) 6855 de l'Epee Avenue, Suite 200
Montreal, Quebec
H3N 2C7

Toll-free telephone: 1-866-218-9573
Toll-free fax: 1-888-201-5808
Saint-Hyacinthe-Bagot Ms. Suzie Guilmain
(Quebec) 5650 Trudeau Street
Saint-Hyacinthe, Quebec
J2S 1H4

Toll-free telephone: 1-866-224-6454
Toll-free fax: 1-888-211-3754
Roberval-Lac-Saint-Jean Mr. Jean-Marc Gendron
(Quebec) Ferlac Building
388 8e Avenue
Dolbeau-Mistassini, Quebec
G8L 3E5

Toll-free telephone: 1-866-224-5724
Toll-free fax: 1-888-211-3619

By-elections will be held in Outremont, Saint-Hyacinthe-Bagot and Roberval-Lac-Saint-Jean on Monday, September 17, 2007.


Changes have been made to the Canada Elections Act. All electors MUST prove their identity and residential address when they vote. For more detailed information on voter identification, visit www.elections.ca.

Elections Canada is an independent body set up by Parliament.

Contact Information