SOURCE: Rhino Records

December 08, 2005 12:00 ET


Career-Spanning Hits Collection Includes Solo Tracks and Duets by Versatile Chanteuse and Is Available February 7

LOS ANGELES, CA -- (MARKET WIRE) -- December 8, 2005 -- Refined and versatile, Roberta Flack's distinctive, jazz-influenced voice could kill the world softly with its smoldering intensity or set the night to music with a joyous shout. Rhino Records explores the sophisticated singer's musical range with this career-spanning compilation. "THE VERY BEST OF ROBERTA FLACK" is available February 7 at regular physical and digital retail outlets and at for a suggested list price of $18.98.

Featuring six #1 hits, "THE VERY BEST OF ROBERTA FLACK" contains 17 songs recorded by the inimitable singer between 1969 and 1991. The compilation includes music from Flack's solo records as well as her acclaimed duets with Donny Hathaway, Peabo Bryson and Maxi Priest.

Originally released on Flack's 1970 debut, "First Take," "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face" did not become a hit until almost two years later when the song popped up in the movie "Play Misty For Me," a thriller starring Clint Eastwood. The biggest hit of 1972, the song was Flack's first chart-topper, reaching #1 on Billboard's Pop chart and #4 on the R&B chart.

The follow-up single, "Where Is The Love," paired Flack with soul singer Donny Hathaway, whom she'd met in college. The song peaked at #1 on Billboard's R&B chart and #5 on its Pop chart in 1972. Flack continued her winning ways in 1973 with one of her best-loved tracks, "Killing Me Softly With His Song." It was Flack's second song to reach #1 on Billboard's Pop chart (#2 on Billboard's R&B chart) and cemented her reputation as a smooth singing chanteuse. A year later, in 1974, Flack was back with an even bigger hit, "Feel Like Makin' Love," which hit #1 on Billboard's Pop and R&B charts. In 1988 Flack hit #1 on Billboard's R&B chart with "Oasis" and in 1990 she hit #1 on Billboard's Dance chart with Steve Hurley's remix of "Uh-Oh Ooh-Ooh Look Out (Here It Comes)." Other gems included in the set are "I Can See The Sun In Late December," which was penned by Stevie Wonder, and the rare B-side "Trade Winds," which has been previously available only on a vinyl single.

"THE VERY BEST OF ROBERTA FLACK" also spotlights some the singer's most popular duets, including three more Flack and Hathaway collaborations: "The Closer I Get To You," a #1 song in 1978 on Billboard's R&B chart and #2 on its Pop chart; "Back Together Again," which cracked the Top 10 on Billboard's R&B chart in 1980; and 1979's "You Are My Heaven." The collection also includes Flack's enduring duet with Bryson, "Tonight, I Celebrate My Love," a wedding reception staple since its release in 1983. Flack teamed with Priest in 1991 for the Dianne Warren-penned hit, "Set The Night To Music," which reached #6 on Billboard's Pop chart.

Track Listing

1.   "Killing Me Softly With His Song"
2.   "Feel Like Makin' Love"
3.   "Where Is The Love" - With Donny Hathaway
4.   "First Time Ever I Saw Your Face"
5.   "The Closer I Get To You" - With Donny Hathaway
6.   "Tonight, I Celebrate My Love" - With Peabo Bryson
7.   "Oasis"
8.   "Back Together Again" - With Donny Hathaway
9.   "Only Heaven Can Wait (For Love)"
10.  "Making Love"
11.  "Set The Night To Music" - With Maxi Priest
12.  "You Are My Heaven" - With Donny Hathaway
13.  "Don't Make Me Wait Too Long" - With Donny Hathaway
14.  "God Don't Like Ugly"
15.  "Trade Winds"
16.  "Uh-Oh Ooh-Ooh Look Out (Here It Comes)" - Steve Hurley's House Mix
17.  "I Can See The Sun In Late December"
For additional information regarding "THE VERY BEST OF ROBERTA FLACK," please contact Nancy Seltzer at Nancy Seltzer & Associates at 323-938-3562 or or Jason Elzy at Rhino Records Media Relations at 818-238-6220 or

Contact Information