Mission Entertainment - Ryan McMahon

August 14, 2008 13:01 ET

Rising Canadian star with Double Life Hits the road

Attention: Arts/Entertainment Editor, Assignment Editor, City Editor, News Editor, Photo Editor TORONTO, ON / PRESS RELEASE--(Marketwire - Aug. 14, 2008) - On the heels of the release of his "Weeks, Months, Years" album now available nationwide at HMV and Chapters/Indigo, Ryan McMahon's "DOUBLE LIFE TOUR" kicks off Thursday, August 21 at Wild Bill's Saloon in Banff Alberta, the first stop in a whirlwind tour that sees McMahon and his band do 33 shows in 21 cities in just five weeks.

A dizzying pace for any musician, the DOUBLE LIFE TOUR is especially ambitious for McMahon, who, like Neil Young, Fleetwood Mac's Lindsay Buckingham and Joy Division's Ian Curtis, suffers from epilepsy. McMahon is also predisposed to Hypergraphia, meaning he is a compulsive and prolific writer - an occupational advantage in his case.

On this tour, Ryan McMahon is joined by band-mates Mike Rogerson, Dustin Young and Jesse Smith. The DOUBLE LIFE TOUR takes its name from the two realities the band members live in: musicians on the road and responsible dads at home.

TOUR DATES:

Thurs. August 21
Wild Bill's Saloon, BANFF, AB

Fri. August 22
Wild Bill's Saloon, BANFF, AB

Sat. August 23
Wild Bill's Saloon, BANFF, AB

Sat. August 23
CHAPTERS in-store, CALGARY, AB

Sun. August 24
Ironwood Stage, CALGARY, AB

Mon. August 25
The Slice, LETHBRIDGE, AB

Tues. August 26
CHAPTERS in-store, LETHBRIDGE, AB

Wed. August 27
The Prickly Pear, MEDICINE HAT, AB

Thurs. August 28
Imperial Hotel, SWIFT CURRENT, SK

Fri. August 29
Imperial Hotel, SWIFT CURRENT, SK

Sat. August 30
Imperial Hotel, SWIFT CURRENT, SK

Mon. September 1
CHAPTERS in-store, REGINA, SK

Wed. September 3
Clancy's, BRANDON, MB

Thurs. September 4
The Black Pirate's Pub, THUNDER BAY, ON

Fri. September 5
LopLops, SAULT STE. MARIE, ON

Sat. September 6
CHAPTERS in-store, TORONTO, ON

Mon. September 8
Horseshoe Tavern, TORONTO, ON

Tues. September 9
Salt Lounge, LONDON, ON

Wed. September 10
CHAPTERS in-store, TORONTO, ON

Sat. September 13
Cavern Club, WINNIPEG, MB

Sun. September 14
CHAPTERS in-store, WINNIPEG, MB

Mon. September 15
Lydia's, SASKATOON, SK

Tues. September 16
CHAPTERS in-store, SASKATOON, SK

Wed. September 17
CHAPTERS in-store, EDMONTON, AB

Thurs. September 18
Axis Café, EDMONTON, AB

Fri. September 19
The Drake, CANMORE, AB

Sat. September 20
The Drake, CANMORE, AB

Sun. September 21
Doc Willoughby's, KELOWNA, BC

Wed. September 24
CHAPTERS in-store, VICTORIA, BC

Thurs. September 25
CHAPTERS in-store, NANAIMO, BC

Thurs. September 25
Queens Hotel, NANAIMO, BC

Fri. September 26
The Garage Showroom, DUNCAN, BC

Sat. September 27
Media Club, VANCOUVER, BC

Like fellow Canadians Alex Trebek, Tom Cochrane and Jann Arden, Ryan McMahon has been selected as a World Vision Artist Associate.

"Weeks, Months, Years" (album title track) received an Honourable Mention in the 2008 West Coast International Songwriting Competition and McMahon recently headlined the Vancouver Island Folk Festival. He was also a featured performer at the Vancouver Music Industry Gala benefiting Sarah McLachlan's Outreach Program, garnering rave reviews. In the words of Red Robinson, Sam Feldman/Bruce Allen Legend Award recipient, Ryan McMahon really knows "how to write great songs…."

/For further information: or to arrange for an interview:

Deborah Keegan
Babble On Communications
Tel: 416.691.5168
Cell: 416.525.5177
Email: deborah@babbleoncom.com
Web: www.babbleoncom.com

Susan McLennan
Babble On Communications
Ph: 416.699.1846
Fax: 416.699.1847
Cell: 416.568.5974
Email: susan@babbleoncom.com
web: www.babbleoncom.com

/ IN: ENTERTAINMENT, SOCIAL, OTHER

Contact Information

  • Deborah Keegan, Babble On Communications
    Primary Phone: 416-691-5168
    Secondary Phone: 416-525-5177
    E-mail: deborah@babbleoncom.com