SOURCE: Warner Bros. Records

July 27, 2006 19:40 ET

Robert Randolph & The Family Band to Release New Album "Colorblind" on September 26th

Eagerly Anticipated Follow-Up to 2003's Grammy-Nominated "Unclassified" Showcases Pedal Steel Guitarist's Dazzling Musicianship and Songwriting Skills

BURBANK, CA -- (MARKET WIRE) -- July 27, 2006 -- Robert Randolph & The Family Band, led by the critically heralded pedal steel guitarist Robert Randolph, will release its second studio album "Colorblind" on September 26th.

"Colorblind," the follow-up to Randolph's 2003 Grammy-nominated debut on Warner Bros. Records, "Unclassified," is a potent mix of rock, R&B, country, blues, and gospel that Randolph says was inspired by repeated listenings of albums by Sly Stone, Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin, and Stevie Wonder. It ranges from the infectious funk-stomp of "Ain't Nothin' Wrong With That" to a blistering version of the Byrds' "Jesus Is Just Alright With Me" (featuring Randolph's friend and mentor Eric Clapton) to such timeless ballads as "Stronger," a duet with Leela James that was written with Steve McEwan (Faith Hill, Kenny Chesney). The New Jersey native collaborated with several other noted songwriters and studio vets, including Mark Batson (Dave Matthews Band, Gwen Stefani), Drew & Shannon (India.Arie, Johnny Lang), Jeff Trott (Sheryl Crow), and top gospel producer/songwriter Tommy Sims (Bruce Springsteen, Eric Clapton).

"Known as one of the most talented pedal steel players in rock history," observes the Associated Press, and notorious for his jubilant, roof-raising live shows, Randolph has now made the leap from being a great performing artist to being a great recording artist on "Colorblind." "We're fortunate to be good musicians," he says, "and we were able to channel into that foundation during the collaboration process, and grow as songwriters."

Robert Randolph & The Family Band, which includes Randolph's cousins Danyel Morgan on bass and Marcus Randolph on drums, is currently on tour in the U.S. with The Black Crowes through August 12th before joining Dave Matthews Band on the road for several shows, including stops in California, Utah, Colorado, and the two final sold-out shows of the tour in Charlottesville, Virginia.

The full track listing for "Colorblind" is as follows:

1.   "Ain't Nothing Wrong With That"
2.   "Deliver Me"
3.   "Diane"
4.   "Angels"
5.   "Jesus Is Just Alright With Me" featuring Eric Clapton
6.   "Stronger" featuring Leela James
7.   "Thrill of It"
8.   "Blessed"
9.   "Love Is The Only Way" featuring Dave Matthews and Leroi Moore
10.  "Thankful N' Thoughtful"
11.  "Homecoming"

Contact Information