SOURCE: The Hickok Belt Award

The Hickok Belt Award

September 17, 2014 07:15 ET

Rory McllRoy Selected as the Hickok Belt™ Award Winner for August 2014

ROCHESTER, NY--(Marketwired - Sep 17, 2014) - 2014 PGA Champion Rory McllRoy has been selected as the Hickok Belt Award winner for the month of August 2014. Voting was conducted by a select panel of members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA). McllRoy was selected as the Hickok Belt Award Winner for the second month in a row based on his incredible performance at the 2014 PGA Championship -- where he held off an all-star field of contenders to finish at 16-under. This is McllRoy's second PGA Championship victory, and his third professional win in a row. The win also makes McllRoy the third-youngest player to win four majors.

Other finalists for the month of August in order of how the NSSA voters ranked them included: Clayton Kershaw (baseball), Katie Ledecky (swimming), Giancarlo Stanton (baseball), Michael Phelps (swimming), Jeff Gordon (auto racing), Inbee Park (golf), Roger Federer (tennis), Kell Brook (boxing), and Serena Williams (tennis).

McllRoy's selection as the Hickok Belt Award winner for August 2014 recognizes him as "the best of the best" in professional sports for the month. He is also one of seven candidates eligible to receive the 2014 overall award, joining previous 2014 monthly winners Kevin Durant, Carey Price, Tuukka Rask, Bubba Watson, Nelson Cruz, and Clayton Kershaw.

To learn more about the Hickok Belt Award and its rich history, please visit

Contact Information

  • News Media:
    For more information, contact
    Tony Liccione
    Email Contact