SOURCE: Rotten Tomatoes

Rotten Tomatoes

January 09, 2014 13:39 ET

Rotten Tomatoes™ Announces 2013 Golden Tomato Award Winners; Gravity Wins in Wide Release

Television Awards Categories Introduced With New Rotten Tomatoes' TV Zone

LOS ANGELES, CA--(Marketwired - January 09, 2014) - Rotten Tomatoes™, the most popular source of ratings and reviews from movie and television critics, today announced the recipients of its annual Golden Tomato Awards -- honoring the best-reviewed films of 2013 according to critics (entire list follows). This year, with the launch of Rotten Tomatoes' TV Zone -- featuring ratings, reviews, episode recaps, interviews and editorial coverage around television programming -- winners are featured in television awards categories as well as movies.

The Golden Tomato for the best-reviewed wide release of 2013 is presented to Warner Bros. Pictures' Gravity, directed and co-written by Alfonso Cuarón. According to the Tomatometer®, which measures the percentage of positive reviews from Rotten Tomatoes™ critics, Gravity received a 97% Certified Fresh rating based on 293 reviews. Director/Writer Destin Daniel Cretton's film Short Term 12 is presented the Golden Tomato Award for best-reviewed film in limited release. Short Term 12 received a 98% Certified Fresh rating based on a total of 133 reviews.

Rotten Tomatoes™ Editor-in-Chief Matt Atchity comments, "Publishing our annual list of the best reviewed films according to critics is one of the highpoints of our year. This year, we're excited to include television programming among our award categories, with the launch of TV Zone at Rotten Tomatoes. Among our winners are some great movies and TV series that may not get otherwise recognized during awards season -- but have been acknowledged by critics as exceptional achievements in entertainment."

The Golden Tomato winners for 2013 are:

Best Reviewed Film in Wide Release

Gravity (97%)

Best Reviewed Film in Limited Release

Short Term 12 (98%)

Best Reviewed New TV Show

The Returned: Season 1 (100%)

Best Reviewed Returning TV Show

Breaking Bad: Season 5 (100%)

Movie Genre Awards

Action/Adventure

Gravity (97%)

Animation

Frozen (89%)

Comedy

American Hustle (93%)

Comic Book

Iron Man 3 (78%)

Documentary

Blackfish (98%)

Drama

12 Years a Slave (96%)

Foreign

Wadjda (99%)

Horror

The Conjuring (86%)

Romance

Before Midnight (98%)

Sci-Fi/ Fantasy

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (89%)

Thriller

Side Effects (84%)

Top Australian Release

The Rocket (100%)

Top United Kingdom Release

56 Up (98%)

TV Genre Awards

Comedy

Parks and Recreation: Season 6 (100%)

Drama

Breaking Bad: Season 5 (100%)

Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror

Game of Thrones: Season 3 (100%)

TV Movie/Miniseries

Behind the Candelabra (95%)

About Rotten Tomatoes

As the leading source of ratings and reviews from top entertainment critics, Rotten Tomatoes (www.RottenTomatoes.com) offers the most comprehensive guide to movies and television shows. Rotten Tomatoes has more than 30 million unique visitors every month across web and mobile, and features more than 2.5 billion user reviews and ratings. It is also the number one movies Twitter handle, with more than 1 million Twitter followers. Rotten Tomatoes is embedded in the Flixster Movies app, which has more than 70 million mobile installs and is the most popular app among movie fans on Facebook. The Tomatometer™ rating -- based on the published opinions of hundreds of film and television critics -- is a trusted measurement of movie and TV programming quality for millions of moviegoers. Rotten Tomatoes Radio, hosted by Editor-in-Chief Matt Atchity, Senior Editor Grae Drake and the Rotten Tomatoes editorial team -- with frequent celebrity guests -- airs live on SiriusXM Indie Channel 104 Tuesdays and Thursdays at 4 pm PT/ 7pm ET; with rebroadcasts Fridays at 3 am PT/ 6am ET & 4pm PT/ 7pm ET and Saturdays at 5am PT/ 8 am ET & 1 pm PT/ 4pm ET.

Contact Information