RTDNA Canada

RTDNA Canada

April 05, 2014 00:00 ET

RTDNA Canada Announces BC Region Award Recipients

BURNABY, BRITISH COLUMBIA--(Marketwired - April 5, 2014) - RTDNA Canada, The Association of Electronic Journalists, is pleased to recognize excellence in electronic journalism in the BC Region.

RTDNA Canada Awards honour the best programs, stations and newsgathering organizations in radio, television and digital. "These awards are named after pioneers and innovators of our industry, and some of them were the founders of our association more than fifty years ago," said RTDNA Canada President Ian Koenigsfest. "We're pleased to continue celebrating excellence in electronic and digital journalism. Our founders would be proud of the quality of award winning local news coverage today."

Bert Cannings Award - Best Newscast
• CJFC-TV Kamloops for CJFC TV Evening News (Small Market)
• CTV Vancouver Island for CTV News at 5 (Medium Market)
• Global Okanagan for News @ 5 (Medium Market)
• CTV Vancouver for CTV News at Six (Large Market)
Adrienne Clarkson Award - Diversity
• Global BC for Haida Gwaii Totem
Gord Sinclair - Live Special Events
• Global BC for Decision BC
Dan McArthur Award - Indepth/Investigative
• CBC News Vancouver for Risky Pill
Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature
• CTV Vancouver Island for Howie the Headstone Cleaner (Small/Medium Market)
• CTV Vancouver for Rocking Horse (Large Market)
Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature
• CKPG TV for Path to Prince George (Small/Medium Market)
• CTV Vancouver for The CTV Road Test (Large Market)
Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage
• CBC News Vancouver for Adriana Falcon
Hugh Haugland Award - Creative Use of Video
• CTV Vancouver for George
Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News
• Global BC for Coquitlam Fatal Hit and Run
Sports Award
• CHEK TV for Learning to Run Again (Small/Medium Market)
• CBC News Vancouver for Lawn Bowling: New Generation (Large Market)
Trina McQueen Award - News Information Program
• CTV Vancouver for Idle No More Overdrive - First Story
Digital Media Award
• CBC British Columbia for BC Votes 2013
Sam Ross Award - Editorial / Commentary
• CTV Vancouver for Mike McCardell and the Gardeners
Byron MacGregor Award - Best Newscast
• CKBZ Kamloops for B-100 News at Noon - August 26, 2013 (Small Market)
CFAX 1070 Victoria for Victoria @ Noon (Medium Market)
• News1130 for Post-Election Newscast - 6:30am Wednesday, May 15, 2013 (Large Market)
Adrienne Clarkson Award - Diversity
• CBC Radio The Early Edition for Breakdown: The Culture of Mental Illness
Gord Sinclair Award - Live Special Events
• News1130 for Your Vote 2013 - Provincial Election Coverage
Dan McArthur Award - In-depth/Investigative
• CBC The Early Edition for Pidgin Protests
Dave Rogers Award - Long Feature
• CBC On The Island for Medical Tourism (Small/Medium Market)
• CKNW Radio for Donovan - A Story of Addiction, Tragedy and Triumph (Large Market)
Dave Rogers Award - Short Feature
• CBC News Nelson for Green Rush (Small/Medium Market)
• News1130 for JFK 50th Anniversary - November 22, 2013 (Large Market)
Ron Laidlaw Award - Continuing Coverage
• News1130 for James Moore & Child Poverty
Charlie Edwards Award - Spot News
• News1130 for West End Car Explosion, May 22, 2013
Sports Award
• CBC DayBreak South for Larry Kwong BC Sports Hall of Fame (Large Market)
Peter Gzowski Award - News Information Program
• CKNW Radio - Bill Good Show for Why Gambling Addiction is Society's Dirty Little Secret
Dick Smyth Award - Use of Sound
• CBC: The Early Edition for The Secrets of Stanley Park

RTDNA Canada is the voice of electronic and digital journalists and news managers in Canada. The members of RTDNA Canada recognize the responsibility of broadcast journalists to promote and to protect the freedom to report independently about matters of public interest and to present a wide range of expressions, opinions and ideas. The RTDNA Canada Code of Ethics, adopted by the Canadian Broadcast Standards Council, is used to measure fairness and accuracy in our profession.

Contact Information