SOURCE: Salin Bank & Trust Company

Salin Bank & Trust Company

June 30, 2016 07:00 ET

Salin Foundation Announces 2016 Recipients of Scholarship Program

14 Scholarships Awarded Across Indiana

INDIANAPOLIS, IN--(Marketwired - June 30, 2016) - Family-owned and Indiana-based Salin Bank & Trust Company today announced the Salin Foundation Community Scholarship Program has awarded $28,000 to 14 Indiana students who will begin a new semester at state universities and colleges this fall.

The program, now in its 16th year, is designed to assist the higher education needs of high school seniors from more than 22 eligible schools in communities served by Salin Bank.

"It is more strategically important than ever before for Indiana's young men and women to pursue a college education or a specialized career and technical training if they are to compete for good jobs in this new era of global and national competition. Therefore we want to help give our young people the ability to attain some additional form of higher education through the distribution of our Salin Foundation Scholarship Program," says James P. Alender, President & CEO of Salin Bank & Trust Company.

Each of the 14 awards will provide $2,000 of tuition assistance to students who plan to enroll in a full-time course of undergraduate study at an accredited two- or four-year college, university, or vocational school located in Indiana.

Scholarships are awarded based on academic achievement (a minimum GPA of 3.0 out of 4.0 is required), demonstrated leadership in school and community activities, and the education goals of the applicant. Each application is reviewed by individuals outside of the Salin Foundation. Officers and employees of Salin Bank are not eligible. Awards are made without regard to Age, Race, Sex, National Origin, Religion, Disability, Pregnancy, Medical Condition, Marital Status and Sexual Orientation.

The scholarship program is administered by Scholarship Management Services, a department of Citizens' Scholarship Foundation of America (CSFA). CSFA seeks to involve and assist the private sector in expanding educational opportunities and encouraging educational achievement. CSFA processes and screens applications and designates recipients. Scholarship applications are available at participating schools and all Salin Bank locations.

"The Salin Foundation Community Scholarship Program is another way for us to invest back into the people and communities Salin Bank serves," says Alender. "Our belief has always been that the future relies on the success of the next generation. By providing financial assistance to these very deserving Indiana students, we are doing a small part in helping this new generation achieve a brighter future."

The 2016 Salin Foundation Community Scholarship Program Recipients:

 Student's Name  High School  Community  Award
 Steavee R. Byer  Marion High School  Marion  $ 2,000
 Sarah A. Osborne  Mississinewa High School  Gas City  $ 2,000
 Mikala L. Lain  Edinburgh Community High School  Edinburgh  $ 2,000
 Catherine M. Prall  Columbus North High School  Columbus  $ 2,000
 Amanda R. Crowe  McCutcheon High School  Lafayette  $ 2,000
 Kyle J. Walker  McCutcheon High School  Lafayette  $ 2,000
 Alexa L. Gaines  Carroll Consolidated School  Flora  $ 2,000
 Kolby D. Kinzie  Delphi Community High School  Delphi  $ 2,000
 Meghan E. Halaburda  South Side High School  Fort Wayne  $ 2,000
 Holden N. Rahn  Snider High School  Fort Wayne  $ 2,000
 William H. Harris  Northwestern Howard High School  Kokomo  $ 2,000
 Aubrey E. Whiteman  Kokomo High School  Kokomo  $ 2,000
 Sophia E. Loposser  Logansport Community High School  Logansport  $ 2,000
 Derek A. Sullivan  Lewis Cass Junior-Senior High School  Walton  $ 2,000
 Total        $ 28,000

About Salin Bank and Trust Company
Salin Bank & Trust Company is a family-owned Indiana community bank with assets of more than $780 million. Salin Bank operates 20 banking locations in 10 Indiana counties serving Columbus, Delphi, Edinburgh, Fishers, Flora, Fort Wayne, Galveston, Gas City, Indianapolis, Kokomo, Lafayette, Logansport, Marion and West Lafayette. Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender.

Image Available:

Contact Information