May 07, 2007 11:00 ET

SaskCentral Board Re-Elects President, Welcomes New Members

REGINA, SASKATCHEWAN--(CCNMatthews - May 7, 2007) - The board of directors of SaskCentral has re-elected Gordon Lightfoot of Innovation Credit Union, an agricultural producer from the Swift Current area, as president.

SaskCentral is owned and controlled by Saskatchewan credit unions, and its 12-member board of directors represent those credit unions. At the April board meeting following SaskCentral's annual meeting in Regina, three new members were welcomed to the board.

The three new members are:

George Keter of Saskatoon has been a delegate to SaskCentral since 1999. He is the CEO of FirstSask Credit Union (formerly Saskatoon Credit Union).

Al Meyer of Rosetown has been working in the system for over 28 years. He is the CEO of Prairie Centre Credit Union.

Gordon Young of Radville was first elected to the local board in 1982. A former administrator, Gordon is retired and is president of the Radius Credit Union board.

SaskCentral is a democratic financial co-operative which supplies research, development, support, consulting services and financial liquidity management and acts as a trade association to the province's credit unions. As of December 31, 2006 there were 87 Saskatchewan credit unions serving more than 523,000 members.

Contact Information