SOURCE: Warner Bros. Records

August 22, 2007 19:28 ET

Seal to Release "System" -- His First Studio Album in Four Years -- on November 13th

Multi-Platinum Singer-Songwriter Calls "System" a Return to His Roots

BURBANK, CA--(Marketwire - August 22, 2007) - Grammy-winning vocalist and songwriter Seal will release a new album, "System," on Warner Bros. Records on November 13, 2007. It is the best-selling artist's fifth studio album and first since 2003's "Seal IV."

The London-born Seal first emerged from Britain's house music scene in the early '90s providing vocals and lyrics for techno artist Adamski's 1990 hit "Killer." The Top Ten debut single, "Crazy," followed, and Seal would go on to earn critical acclaim and worldwide commercial success over four albums with a genre-defying fusion of soul, pop, rock, R&B, and propulsive grooves. "System," with its shimmering melodies, glistening layers of synths and acoustic guitar, and supple, electronic beats, "is a return to my roots," Seal says. "I wanted to go back to the guitar, to the very first instrument I wrote 'Crazy' and 'Killer' on, and get back to the fundamentals of what I really love to do."

To help him deliver what he calls "a quintessential Seal album," Seal turned to British musician and songwriter Stuart Price, who co-wrote and produced Madonna's "Confessions on a Dancefloor," as well as Grammy-winning remixes for No Doubt and Coldplay. "It was quite evident from the first track that Stuart and I were on the same page," Seal says, "that I'd found someone who was able to elaborate on and execute my vision for this record. He loved the songs and I loved his production technique and we just took it from there. He's one of those rare people who plays instruments, understands music theory, and gets what a singer goes through when he is singing a song."

Indeed Seal's prodigious vocal gifts -- his soaring, husky baritone that has become a signature on such hits as "Prayer for the Dying," "Kiss From a Rose," and "Don't Cry" -- amplify the dreamy atmosphere on new tracks "Swoosh," "Amazing," ("System's" lead-off single), and "Wedding Day," an emotional ballad Seal wrote the morning he wed supermodel Heidi Klum, with whom he has three children.

"Family, my wife and children, that's my reason for being," Seal says. "Everything is done with them in mind, so perhaps that's the reason this new album is up-tempo. It does feel like a celebration of life. I am finally in a content and happy place to the point where I feel like I need to sing about it. It's made me want to address things that are close to home. That's why the album is called 'System.' It's saying that against the odds, we have chosen to take control of our emotional system. Not being a victim of a system that's already in place, but creating our own."

To read Seal's personal blog, listen to streaming audio, and watch music video clips, please visit his website at

The track-listing for "System" is as follows:

1.   "Swoosh"
2.   "Amazing"
3.   "Just Like Before"
4.   "Loaded"
5.   "Wedding Day"
6.   "System"
7.   "Silence"
8.   "The Right Life"
9.   "Rolling"
10.  "Immaculate"

Contact Information