SOURCE: The Hickok Belt Award

October 11, 2012 10:15 ET

Serena Williams Named Monthly Winner of the Hickok Belt™ Award for the Second Time in 2012

ROCHESTER, NY--(Marketwire - Oct 11, 2012) - Serena Williams has done it again, claiming her second Hickok Belt Award this year for her performance in September. Voting was conducted by a select panel of members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA) who honored Williams for winning the women's singles title at the 2012 U.S. Open. The hard-fought victory over Victoria Azarenka marked the fourth U.S. Open title for Williams and 15th Grand Slam title overall. Williams is currently ranked third in the world by the Women's Tennis Association.

Other finalists for the month of July in order of how the NSSA voters ranked them included: Miguel Cabrera (baseball), Brandt Snedeker (golf), Matt Ryan (football), Adrian Beltre (baseball), C.J. Spiller (football), Denny Hamlin (auto racing), Rory McElroy (golf), Jiyai Shin (golf) and Andy Roddick (tennis).

Serena Williams's selection as the Hickok Belt Award winner for September, not only recognizes her as "the best of the best" in professional sports for the month, it also marks yet another milestone in the return of the award given to the top professional athlete across all sports. As a monthly recipient in both July and September, Williams is the only two-time monthly winner among an elite list of finalists for the overall annual award, including Eli Manning, Jeremy Lin, Lindsey Vonn, Bubba Watson, Josh Hamilton, LeBron James and Usain Bolt. Winners as selected by the NSSA will be announced each month throughout 2012. The overall winner will then be announced in early 2013, as the Hickok Belt Award, the crown jewel of sports, will be presented for the first time in over 36 years.

The Hickok Belt Award was originally presented annually from 1950 - 1976. Past recipients include a list of the 20th century's elite athletes including the likes of Muhammad Ali, Arnold Palmer, Mickey Mantle, Willie Mays, Jim Brown and others who defined their sports. To learn more about the rich history of the Hickok Belt Award and keep up with all the news surrounding the award in 2012, please visit

Contact Information

  • News Media:
    For more information, contact
    Larry Kleehammer
    Email Contact