SOURCE: The Hickok Belt Award

August 21, 2012 07:15 ET

Serena Williams Selected as the Hickok Belt™ Award Winner for July 2012

ROCHESTER, NY--(Marketwire - Aug 21, 2012) - Tennis phenomenon Serena Williams has been selected as the Hickok Belt™ Award winner for July 2012. Voting was conducted by a select panel of members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association (NSSA). Williams was selected for her impressive performance at Wimbledon where she won the singles title for the fifth time in a victory over Agnieszka Radwanska. The win was her 14th grand slam singles title in all. Williams also went on to win her fifth Wimbledon title in doubles with her sister, Venus. She is currently ranked fourth in the world in singles by the Women's Tennis Association.

Other finalists for the month of July in order of how the NSSA voters ranked them included: Roger Federer (tennis), Michael Phelps (swimming), Ryan Lochte (swimming), Mike Trout (baseball), Andrew McCutchen (baseball), Jordan Zimmerman (baseball), Tiger Woods (golf), Aroldis Chapman (baseball) and Wladimir Klitschko (boxing).

Serena Williams's selection as the Hickok Belt Award winner for July, not only recognizes her as "the best of the best" in professional sports for the month, it also marks yet another milestone in the return of the award given to the top professional athlete across all sports. As a monthly recipient, Williams becomes the seventh of twelve finalists for the overall annual award, joining previous monthly award winners including Eli Manning, Jeremy Lin, Lindsey Vonn, Bubba Watson, Josh Hamilton and LeBron James. Winners as selected by the NSSA will be announced each month throughout 2012. The overall winner will then be announced in early 2013, as the Hickok Belt Award, the crown jewel of sports, will be presented for the first time in over 36 years.

The Hickok Belt Award was originally presented annually from 1950 - 1976. Past recipients include a list of the 20th century's elite athletes including the likes of Muhammad Ali, Arnold Palmer, Mickey Mantle, Willie Mays, Jim Brown and others who defined their sports. To learn more about the rich history of the Hickok Belt Award and keep up with all the news surrounding the award in 2012, please visit

Contact Information

  • News Media:
    For more information, contact
    Larry Kleehammer
    Email Contact