SOURCE: Serica Energy plc

October 20, 2014 02:00 ET

Serica Energy plc Announces Update on Sidi Moussa Operations

LONDON, UNITED KINGDOM--(Marketwired - Oct 20, 2014) - Serica Energy plc (TSX: SQZ) (LSE: SQZ)

Serica Energy plc ("Serica" or the "Company")

Serica provides update on Sidi Moussa Operations

London, 20 October 2014 - Serica Energy plc (TSX: SQZ; LSE: SQZ) confirms that the SM-1 well in the Sidi Moussa block offshore Morocco has reached a total depth of 2,825m MDBRT (measured depth below rotary table) and encountered oil during drilling operations. Preparations are underway to perform cased hole testing.

Serica has a 5% working interest in the Sidi Moussa block. Its partners are Genel Energy (Operator) and San Leon Energy.

Tony Craven Walker, Chairman and CEO of Serica said, "We are at a very early stage and the presence of hydrocarbons in this frontier block will require further evaluation. At this stage it is premature to make any definitive technical interpretation. The planned well test is being designed to achieve this objective as far as possible and an update will be released once these operations are concluded."

Click on, or paste the following link into your web browser, to view the associated PDF document.

http://www.rns-pdf.londonstockexchange.com/rns/6964U_1-2014-10-20.pdf

Enquiries:

Serica Energy plc    
Tony Craven Walker,
Chairman & CEO
tony.cravenwalker@serica-energy.com +44 (0)20 7487 7300
Mitch Flegg, COO mitch.flegg@serica-energy.com +44 (0)20 7487 7300
Chris Hearne, CFO chris.hearne@serica-energy.com +44 (0)20 7487 7300

Peel Hunt
   
Richard Crichton richard.crichton@peelhunt.com +44 (0)20 7418 8900
Charles Batten charles.batten@peelhunt.com +44 (0)20 7418 8900

Instinctif
   
David Simonson david.simonson@instinctif.com +44 (0)20 7457 2020
Catherine Wickman catherine.wickman@instinctif.com +44 (0)20 7457 2020

This information is provided by RNS
The company news service from the London Stock Exchange

Contact Information