SOURCE: Serica Energy plc

August 16, 2013 11:10 ET

Serica Energy plc - Share purchase by Directors

LONDON--(Marketwired - Aug 16, 2013) -


TSX:SQZ


Serica Energy plc
("Serica" or the "Company")


Share purchase by Directors

Serica Energy plc (TSX: SQZ; AIM: SQZ) announces that the Trustees of
the Serica Energy Share Incentive Plan ("the Plan") have made purchases
of and allocated Serica shares under the terms of the plan on behalf of
employees and officers of the Company as a result of which certain
directors increased their beneficial shareholdings in the Company by a
total of 3,957 shares on 13 August 2013, as follows:

Christopher Hearne (Finance Director) acquired 1,977 ordinary shares at
an average price of 22.75 pence per share taking his total beneficial
shareholding to 817,595 shares representing 0.45 % of the voting
rights;

Mitchell Flegg (Chief Operating Officer) acquired 1,980 ordinary shares
at an average price of 22.75 pence per share taking his total
beneficial shareholding to 125,782 shares representing 0.07% of the
voting rights.


The Company has 182,770,311 shares issued and outstanding.


16 August 2013


Serica Energy plc
Tony Craven       tony.cravenwalker@serica-energy.com  +44 (0)20 7487 7300
Walker,
Chairman & Interim CEO
Mitch Flegg,  COO   mitch.flegg@serica-energy.com     +44 (0) 20 7487 7300
Chris Hearne, CFO  chris.hearne@serica-energy.com     +44 (0) 20 7487 7300
J.P.Morgan Cazenove
Michael   michael.wentworthstanley@jpmorgancazenove.com  +44 (0)2075882828
Wentworth-Stanley

RBC Capital Markets
Matthew Coakes     matthew.coakes@rbccm.com           +44 (0)20 7653 4000
Peel Hunt
Richard Crichton   richard.crichton@peelhunt.com       +44 (0)20 7418 8900
College Hill
David Simonson     david.simonson@collegehill.com      +44 (0)20 7457 2020
Catherine Wickman  catherine.wickman@collegehill.com   +44 (0)20 7457 2020
Alexandra Roper    alexandra.roper@collegehill.com     +44 (0)20 7457 2020


To receive Company news releases via email, please contact
 serica@collegehill.com  and specify "Serica press releases" in the
subject line.

                    This information is provided by RNS
          The company news service from the London Stock Exchange

END

Contact Information