SOURCE: Serica Energy plc

January 15, 2013 08:27 ET

Share Purchase by Directors

LONDON--(Marketwire - Jan 15, 2013) -

TSX:SQZ

Serica Energy plc
("Serica" or the "Company")

Share purchase by Directors

Serica Energy plc (TSX: SQZ; AIM: SQZ) announces that the Trustees of
the Serica Energy Share Incentive Plan ("the Plan") have made purchases
of and allocated Serica shares under the terms of the plan on behalf of
employees and officers of the Company as a result of which certain
directors increased their beneficial shareholdings in the Company by a
total of 4,017 shares on 14 January 2013, as follows:

Christopher Hearne (Finance Director) acquired 1,338 ordinary shares at
an average price of 28 pence per share taking his total beneficial
shareholding to 795,970 shares representing 0.44% of the voting rights;

Peter Sadler (Business Development Director) acquired 1,338 ordinary
shares at an average price of 28 pence per share taking his total
beneficial shareholding to 187,510 shares representing 0.10% of the
voting rights.

Mitchell Flegg (Chief Operating Officer) acquired 1,341 ordinary shares
at an average price of 28 pence per share taking his total beneficial
shareholding to 104,157 shares representing 0.06% of the voting rights.

The Company has 182,770,311 shares issued and outstanding.

15 January 2013

Serica Energy plc

Tony Craven        tony.cravenwalker@serica-energy.com  +44(0)20 7487 7300
Walker,Chairman& Interim CEO

Peter Sadler,       peter.sadler@serica-energy.com      +44(0)20 7487 7300
Business Development
Director

Chris Hearne,       chris.hearne@serica-energy.com      +44(0)20 7487 7300
CFO

J.P.Morgan Cazenove

Michael             michael.wentworthstanley@jpmorgancazenove.com 
Wentworth
-Stanley                                              +44(0)20 7588 2828

RBC Capital Markets
Matthew Coakes       matthew.coakes@rbccm.com           +44(0)20 7653 4000

College Hill

Matthew Tyler      Matthew.tyler@collegehill.com        +44(0)20 7457 2020
Catherine Wickman  catherine.wickman@collegehill.com    +44(0)20 7457 2020
Alexandra Roper    alexandra.roper@collegehill.com      +44(0)20 7457 2020

To receive Company news releases via email, please contact
 serica@collegehill.com  and specify "Serica press releases" in the
subject line.

                    This information is provided by RNS
          The company news service from the London Stock Exchange

END

Contact Information