SOURCE: Serica Energy plc

February 15, 2013 03:00 ET

Share purchase by Directors

LONDON--(Marketwire - Feb 15, 2013) - Serica Energy plc (TSX: SQZ) (AIM: SQZ)


Serica Energy plc
("Serica" or the "Company")

Share purchase by Directors

Serica Energy plc (TSX: SQZ; AIM: SQZ) announces that the Trustees of
the Serica Energy Share Incentive Plan ("the Plan") have made purchases
of and allocated Serica shares under the terms of the plan on behalf of
employees and officers of the Company as a result of which certain
directors increased their beneficial shareholdings in the Company by a
total of 4,014 shares on 13 February 2013, as follows:

Christopher Hearne (Finance Director) acquired 1,338 ordinary shares at
an average price of 28 pence per share taking his total beneficial
shareholding to 797,308 shares representing 0.44% of the voting rights;

Peter Sadler (Business Development Director) acquired 1,338 ordinary
shares at an average price of 28 pence per share taking his total
beneficial shareholding to 188,848 shares representing 0.10% of the
voting rights.

Mitchell Flegg (Chief Operating Officer) acquired 1,338 ordinary shares
at an average price of 28 pence per share taking his total beneficial
shareholding to 105,495 shares representing 0.06% of the voting rights.

The Company has 182,770,311 shares issued and outstanding.

15 February 2013

Serica Energy plc

Tony Craven      tony.cravenwalker@serica-energy.com   +44 (0)20 7487 7300
Walker, Chairman                                                & Interim
CEO

Peter Sadler,    peter.sadler@serica-energy.com        +44 (0)20 7487 7300
Business
Development
Director

Chris Hearne,    chris.hearne@serica-energy.com        +44 (0)20 7487 7300
CFO
J.P.Morgan
Cazenove

Michael            michael.wentworthstanley@jpmorgancazenove.com 
Wentworth-Stanley                                    +44 (0)20 7588 2828
RBC Capital
Markets

Matthew Coakes     matthew.coakes@rbccm.com            +44 (0)20 7653 4000
College Hill

Matthew Tyler      Matthew.tyler@collegehill.com       +44 (0)20 7457 2020
Catherine Wickman  catherine.wickman@collegehill.com   +44 (0)20 7457 2020
Alexandra Roper    alexandra.roper@collegehill.com     +44 (0)20 7457 2020

To receive Company news releases via email, please contact
 serica@collegehill.com  and specify "Serica press releases" in the
subject line.

                    This information is provided by RNS
          The company news service from the London Stock Exchange

END

Contact Information