SOURCE: Churchill Club

September 19, 2013 14:18 ET

Silicon Valley's Churchill Club Presents The Churchills 2013

Third Annual Celebration and Presentation of "The Churchills"

SAN JOSE, CA--(Marketwired - Sep 19, 2013) - Churchill Club, Silicon Valley's premier business and technology forum, today announced the third annual Churchill Awards, a program that highlights excellence in leadership, innovation, collaboration, and social benefit, for the purpose of inspiring others. On September 26th this evening event will recognize four recipients of "The Churchills 2013."

The evening will begin with a networking reception followed by a formal dinner, awards presentations and in-depth conversations with award recipients and other esteemed Silicon Valley technology leaders. Following Churchill Club tradition, awards will be presented in four categories: "Game Changer," "Global Benefactor," "Magical Team" and "Legendary Leader."

Special Event: Churchill Awards 2013
Honorees and speakers include:

  • Geoffrey Moore (Master of Ceremonies), Author, Speaker, Advisor
  • Tesla Motors (Game Changer Honoree), accepted by Diarmuid O'Connell, VP of Business and Corporate Development. Mr. O'Connell will be interviewed by Steve Jurvetson of Draper Fisher Jurvetson.
  • Marc Benioff (Global Benefactor Honoree), Chairman & CEO, Mr. Benioff will be interviewed by Geoffrey Moore.
  • NASA Mars Rover Curiosity Team (Magical Team Honoree), accepted by David Blake, Senior Staff Scientist, NASA Ames; and Jim Erickson, Mars Science Laboratory Project Manager, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory. Mr. Blake and Mr. Erickson will be interviewed by Seth Shostak, Senior Astronomer, SETI Institute.
  • Peter Diamandis (Legendary Leader Honoree), Chairman & CEO, XPRIZE; Co-founder & Executive Chairman, Director, Singularity University. Dr. Diamandis will be interviewed live at the event by Paul Saffo, Managing Director of Foresight, Discern Analytics. 

Event Schedule

  • Awards Registration & Reception: 5:30 p.m.
  • Awards Dinner: 6:00 p.m.
  • Awards Program: 7:00 p.m.

Santa Clara Marriott
2700 Mission College Boulevard
Santa Clara, CA 95054

To register for the awards ceremony or for more detail on the schedule, please visit

Event Sponsors
Sponsors of the September 26th awards include Shell, Bloomberg Businessweek, Accenture, Nair & Co., and Silicon Valley Bank.

For updated event schedule information check out Churchill Club's related links:

About Churchill Club:
Churchill Club is Silicon Valley's premier business and technology forum. The 7,000-member, 27-year-old, 501(c)(3) non-profit has earned its international reputation for dynamic, in-the-news programs where global business and thought leaders meet to discuss and debate, inform and educate, forecast and evaluate. The organization presents up to 40 programs each year in support of innovation, economic growth, and societal benefit, with an emphasis on actionable takeaways and insights. A broad range of technology and opportunity-related topics are explored on Churchill Club's stage, including education, energy, healthcare, transportation, and much more.

Past speakers include founders and executives of major companies such as Google CEO Larry Page, Intuit Chairman Bill Campbell, Xerox CEO Ursula Burns, Netflix CEO Reed Hastings, Microsoft CEO Steve Ballmer, Shell CEO Peter Voser, Nissan-Renault CEO Carlos Ghosn, SpaceX and Tesla CEO Elon Musk, and Oracle CEO Larry Ellison; prominent investors such as John Doerr, Vinod Khosla, Roger McNamee, Marc Andreessen, and Ron Conway; and government and other leaders such as former U.S. presidents Bill Clinton and George W. Bush, filmmaker James Cameron, and Hollywood talent über-agent Ari Emanuel.

Contact Information

  • Media Contact:
    Mary Ellen Ynes
    Zeno Group
    Email Contact