SOURCE: Iowa State Fair

December 19, 2007 17:43 ET

Six Members Re-Elected to State Fair Board

DES MOINES, IA--(Marketwire - December 19, 2007) - Six members were re-elected to the Iowa State Fair Board of Directors during the State Agricultural Convention held December 7-9 in Des Moines.

Each member has been re-elected to a two-year term. The members and their districts are: Bill Neubrand, LeMars (northwest); Don Greiman, Garner (north central); Dave Huinker, Decorah (northeast); C.W. Thomas, Guthrie Center (southwest); Randy Brown, Osceola (south central); and Bob Schlutz, Columbus Junction (southeast).

Delegates from six geographic State Fair Board districts elect two board members each for a total of 12 directors. All terms are staggered two-year terms.

Other directors include Jeanne Partlow, Manson and Ankeny (northwest); James Romer, Ames (north central); Paul Vaassen, Dubuque (northeast); Gary VanAernam, Exira (southwest); Jerry Parkin, West Des Moines (south central); and Gary McConnell, Bloomfield (southeast). Directors by office held are Governor Chet Culver (represented by Lieutenant Governor Patty Judge), Secretary of Agriculture Bill Northey and Iowa State University President Gregory Geoffroy (represented by Dr. Chuck Morris, director of 4-H Youth Development at Iowa State University).

VanAernam, Brown and Partlow will serve the Board as president, vice-president and treasurer, respectively.

The 2008 Iowa State Fair runs August 7-17 -- "U Gotta Love It"! For more information call 800/545-FAIR or visit

Contact Information

  • Contact:
    Lori Chappell
    515/262-3111, ext. 204