SOURCE: Smith & Nephew PLC

April 18, 2006 11:37 ET

Smith & Nephew Plc announces Results Timing Change

London, UK -- (MARKET WIRE) -- April 18, 2006 --

Smith & Nephew Announces Timing Change of First Quarter Results Conference Call

18 April 2006

Smith & Nephew plc, (LSE: SN, NYSE: SNN), the global medical technology business, announces a change in the timing of the first quarter results conference call with financial analysts from 12.30pm BST/7.30am Eastern to 12.00 noon BST/7.00am Eastern on Thursday 27 April 2006. This change is a result of clashes with other industry conference calls taking place on the same day. The release of the announcement of first quarter results will remain at 11.00am BST/ 6.00am Eastern on that day.

Enquiries

Smith & Nephew UK
Julie Allen                                             Tel: +44 (0)20 7401 7646
Investor Relations Co-ordinator

Financial Dynamics UK
David Yates/Ben Atwell                                  Tel: +44 (0)20 7831 3113

Financial Dynamics US
Jonathan Birt                                               Tel: +1 212 850 5634

About us

Smith & Nephew is a global medical technology business, specialising in Orthopaedics, Endoscopy and Advanced Wound Management products. Smith & Nephew is a global leader in arthroscopy and advanced wound management and is one of the fastest growing global orthopaedics companies.

Smith & Nephew is dedicated to helping improve people's lives. The company prides itself on the strength of its relationships with its surgeons and professional healthcare customers, with whom its name is synonymous with high standards of performance, innovation and trust. The company has over 8,500 employees and operates in 33 countries around the world generating annual sales of $2.6 billion.

                      This information is provided by RNS
            The company news service from the London Stock Exchange